Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

I received a comment from Shivalika from Whimsy Journals telling me that she’d nominated me for the Siblinghood (Sisterhood) of the World Bloggers Award. How sweet! You should definitely check her out. She has a lovely blog. Thank you so much!

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers

THE RULES:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post.
  2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.
  3. Nominate ten other bloggers (or up to 10).
  4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nominations.

Here are the questions that she gave me.

Which is the best book you have read this year so far and what made you love it? The best book that I’ve read this year is by far We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. I’m not sure if anything will be able to top it. It quickly became an all-time favorite because of the way Shirley Jackson used words, the characters, the suspense, the world she created. I love this book and I highly recommend it to just about anyone.

wehavealwayslivedinthecastle

What excuses do you give for not lending your books to others? This actually recently came up with my sister. I try my best to keep my books in the best condition possible, even it’s a slightly used book. I also always use bookmarks. Pages are just as important as the outside of a book. I can’t say that I ever give excuses to not lend out a book, unless I’m reading it or plan to read it soon, but most people know how much care I give them. (She did borrow the book, but she promised she wouldn’t mess it up.)

Which genre, if there is, do you usually avoid reading? Great question! I’m the kind of person who says they can read just about anything, but I’m not sure if it’s completely true. I tend to stay away from high fantasy, even though I just bought a copy of A Game of Thrones. At the moment, I’m not sure when I’ll attempt to read it, but I do love the show and I thought that could possibly help me get into the book world. Oddly enough, I enjoy fantasy in movies and TV shows, so maybe I just need to read the genre more.

Do you ever plan to write a book? If so which genre? I do! My dream career is to be a published author and I’m currently working on a novel of my own. It’s a new adult contemporary. There are some other book ideas floating around in my mind right now and they’re all pretty different. I’m hoping to have a rough draft by the end of the year. And maybe one day it will be published.

Which books have inspired you to write? Or start your blog? There wasn’t any particular book that inspired me to write. I’ve wanted to write since my third grade class had a writing project and we all wrote a book. I already loved to read, but discovering that I could write my own and that I had places to put the ideas in my head was eyeopening. As far as my blog goes, I was more inspired by other bloggers than books.

Apart from reading, what is your favourite hobby? I’m a huge music lover, so I listen to a lot of music. A lot. I also watch a lot of YouTube. (If you have any music or YouTube recommendations, send them my way! Watch me bring YouTube back up in my questions…)

Any specific book you are inclined to read on a cozy rainy day? Not really. I have my favorite books of all time, but I haven’t reread many of them in the past few years. But I think reading a magical realism book on one of those days would be a great way to spend it!

Favourite Disney movie? Two of my favorite Disney movies (because I could never pick one) are Beauty and the Beast and Alice in Wonderland. Along with The Little Mermaid and The Fox and the Hound, those are two of my favorites of all time.

beautyandthebeast aliceinwonderland

Favourite authors and why? I’ve mentioned them here so many times, but Megan McCafferty and Sarah Dessen are my favorite authors. There’s something special about their books to me. I’ve been reading them since I was in middle school and high school, so it’s hard to not feel like I grew up reading their books. They were there when I needed something to get lost in and something to relate to.

If you could change a character in a book, which would it be? Oh, this is a good one. I could probably come up with a long list if I really thought about it, but I also think I wouldn’t change a character. It wasn’t the author’s vision, so even if I have some opinions on characters I didn’t like or didn’t fit in a book for me, I’m going to say I’d keep them all. (Was that an easy way out of answering this? Yeah.)


Here are my nominees:

I’m still relatively new to the blogging world, so I have only tagged a few people. They all have great blogs that I’ve been enjoying recently. I highly recommend you all check them out.


And here are my questions for my nominees:

  1. How old were you when you discovered a love for reading?
  2. Do you watch BookTube? If so, what is your favorite channel?
  3. Book to movie adaptations: yay or nay?
  4. Are you a book hoarder?
  5. What is your favorite and least favorite genre to read?
  6. Do you have any reading habits?
  7. Favorite book relationship (romantic or non-romantic)?
  8. What is (or was) your most anticipated book for 2015?
  9. Why did you begin blogging?
  10. Favorite cover trend?

There we go! I just want to say thank you again to Shivalika! This was a lot of fun.

6 thoughts on “Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. great answers! I love Beauty & the Beast too. But the Fox & the Hound traumatized me as a little kid (had to be carried out of the theater, screaming hysterically lol) and I have never been able to bring myself to watch it since. “We Have Always Lived in the Castle” looks so intense – I may need to check that one out! And seriously – follow that dream of publishing a book. Write it, rewrite it, rewrite it some more (lol), and keep sending that baby out into the manuscript world until someone bites! Don’t give up! 🙂

    • Aww! It is a tough movie to watch. A lot of Disney movies made me sad at the time, but I think they taught me a lot about life as well. 🙂 Oh, We Have Always Lived in the Castle is such a great book! It has some intense moments, but it’s not too scary or anything. Thank you so much for saying that about writing. It’s things like that that do help me keep going. 🙂 I cannot wait until I have a manuscript to continually send out!

Leave a comment