Discussion: Favorite Book Relationships

FAVORITE BOOK SHIPS.png

I’ve had this blog for several years, and I have discussed some of my favorite relationships from time to time, but I don’t believe I’ve ever done a post dedicated solely to my favorite ships. This seems outrageous to me as I’ve been shipping people since I was like 6 and watching Mighty Morphin Power Rangers (Kimberly/Tommy OTP). Most of my time on the internet has been spent in fandoms talking about ships. It’s only right that I make this post! Here are some of my all-time favorite book ships.


LIZZIE & MR. DARCY

Oh, how I love Lizzie and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. They are a classic relationship for a reason. Not only do I love both of the characters, but the development of the two of them throughout the book is wonderful. They’re a good match for one another from the start, but by the end, they’re perfect for each other. And, if we’re talking about the 2005 adaptation, that HAND FLEX. “You have bewitched me body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. And wish from this day forth never to be parted from you.” Now I’m wanting to reread it so I can take note of all of my favorite quotes and scenes.

MIA & MICHAEL
I really loved Mia and Michael from The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. I didn’t read a few of the books (8, 9, and 10, I think), but I did read Royal Wedding and it reminded me of how they were one of my first ships from books that I read as a teen. The movie is also one of my favorites and that may be another reason I always liked them so much. It was nice to see them on screen together. Her foot popped!

JESSICA & MARCUS

Now, these two. There is no way I can describe my love for them. As many of you probably know, the Jessica Darling book series by Megan McCafferty is my favorite series. Jessica is someone who I could relate to in an important way when I was a teenager, so she holds a special place in my heart, and Marcus is the quintessential bad boy with a heart of gold. They’re so fitting for one another. Throughout the slow burn of a couple books and the heartbreak in others, they were always meant for one another. One day, I would love to reread this series from the beginning. You, Yes, You. 

KATNISS & GALE
(slight spoilers for this relationship)

Siiiigh. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is one of those YA series that reminded me that most love triangles in books are absolutely horrible. I found their relationship to be one of the purest loves in the series and, in that way, I guess it makes sense how things worked out. It was a dystopian series after all. That makes me feel better about it anyway. When I first finished the series, I was angry about what happened with Gale and what happened with this relationship, but I realize that sometimes a relationship not working out is not always a bad thing. But, still, I think they’re the better ship in the books! They were going to run away together!

ROSE & DIMITRI

Here we go with the YA ship that wasn’t as threatened by a triangle. Sure, Rose and Adrian (love Adrian, too!) could have been great, but Rose and Dimitri’s relationship is one of the things that kept me reading the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. They definitely go through their ups and downs in the books, but that’s one of the reasons I love them so much. Out of all of the ships in this post, they’re the most problematic of the bunch, but I’m okay with that. It’s a series about vampires and other supernatural creatures. Blood Promise (book #4) was a 5-star book for me and the struggle these two went through kept me on the edge of my seat. It was heartbreaking in so many ways, but worth it. “You forgot my first lesson: Don’t hesitate.”

4 thoughts on “Discussion: Favorite Book Relationships

  1. I had almost forgotten about the Power Rangers! And yes, Dary and Lizzie are one of my favorite couples too. I think the hand flex was one of the most ingenious cinematic moments ever.

Leave a Reply

