Discussion: My Favorite Quotes (on Goodreads)

FAVORITE QUOTES.png

I’ll be honest, I don’t take any notes while I’m reading whether it’s with post-it notes or underlining my favorite parts of a book. This is something that I want to do more of, but right now, I mostly save quotes on Goodreads when I see them. This is usually when I receive their Quote of the Day emails, but occasionally I will look for quotes I liked after I finish a book. For this post, I chose 5 from my favorites. I’d like to do this post more often when I find quotes in books myself. I’m going to try to keep notes from now on!


“We are perfect in our imperfection.” – Megan McCafferty, Second Helpings

This is from my favorite series. I absolutely love Jessica and Marcus.

“No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream.” ― Shirley Jackson, The Haunting of Hill House

Shirley Jackson became a favorite of mine so quickly. This line is one that I try to remember. There’s a great lesson in it. Let yourself dream sometimes.

“Curiouser and curiouser!” ― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

I feel like there isn’t a reason to explain this.

“Remember this: Nothing is written in the stars. Not these stars, nor any others. No one controls your destiny.” ― Gregory Maguire, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Another quote that’s an important lesson.

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.”― J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

Say what you will about The Cather in the Rye (personally, I always liked it), it has wonderful quotes. I love this one because I wish I knew more authors! However, I do write with friends and it’s always nice to get to read someone’s work and talk to them about it.


Do you take notes when you read? What are some your favorite quotes?

Leave a Reply

