July Book Reviews: I Hate Everyone But You, Jane Eyre, TWD, and Sherlock

July Reviews.png

6 books read this month! The bulk of that is graphic novels and I did end up in a reading slump while on vacation (sadly!), but I was reading, and I’m glad to have read these particular books. I’m considering it a great reading month.


I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin / September 5, 2017 / Wednesday Books / ★★★★

This book continually impressed me while I was reading it. I knew that it would be funny, and I felt that I had a hang on the characters from the jump since I love Just Between Us on YouTube, but there’s so much more to this book. It’s a heartwarming and, at times, heartbreaking book about two best friends leaving each other for college. But, in this day and age, you can still be with someone even if they’re not physically there. I loved the format of the book, told in emails and texts between the main characters. It reminded me of a lot of the books that I read when I was younger and I think it will be a wonderful addition to a lot of YA TBRs this fall. It will be coming out around the time that people are going off to college, so I highly recommend it for friends who are parting ways. And, if you’re interested in reading more diversely, it is a LGBTQA+ book, and the level of communication that these girls have with each other is extremely organic. It deals with friendship, mental illness, coming out, female sexuality. On a scale of no emotion to me being a sobbing mess by the end, I was somewhere near the uplifted crying level. I don’t know where that lands on the scale… but 4 stars!

I received an E-ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte / 1847 / ★★★★

I read Jane Eyre with the help of an audiobook that was brilliantly performed. It had been on my TBR for years, so I’m extremely excited to have finally read it. Sure, I knew all about the big plot twist, but there’s more to it considering it’s a long book, and I found myself liking Jane a lot. She was strong and willful despite everything she went through as a child and throughout the book. One of my favorite parts of the book was that it spanned so many years of her life and was originally published as Jane Eyre: An Autobiography. I found her schooling and governess years to be interesting to listen to, and Adele was a great character. Also, I liked Mr. Rochester much more than I thought I would considering he’s not exactly charming or even nice most of the time. Charlotte Bronte wrote an understandable and convincing relationship between Jane and Mr. Rochester. I can’t wait to watch some of the adaptations.

The Walking Dead, Vol. 3-5 by Robert Kirkman / 2005-2006 / ★★★★1/2

Talk about an adventure! For such short graphic novels, a lot happens in them, sometimes much quicker than on the show. As always, I love seeing characters from the show and exploring the differences between their original and their show personalities and even down to their looks. This go around, we’re introduced to the Governor, and that was super exciting! I haven’t watched the seasons that these novels inspired since they occurred, so it’s always fun to go back and see the source material. Sometimes the dialogue falls a bit short for me, but I suppose at times that makes it grittier and feel realistic. I read the 3 of these volumes in just a couple of days, and I want to continue soon.

Sherlock: A Study in Pink by Mark Gattis and Steven Moffatt / 2017 / ★★★★★

There’s not much difference between this and the first episode of the show, so it’s a great read if you’re already a fan. Reading it as a manga was interesting because this was my first time reading one, so it took a few pages to understand the way to read it, but I found that to be part of its enjoyment. I didn’t love a lot of the art work, and I would have liked them to be in color, but there were parts of it that were beautiful. I’m giving it 5 stars because, well, it’s Sherlock, and I love the story and the way it was converted for the show.

One thought on “July Book Reviews: I Hate Everyone But You, Jane Eyre, TWD, and Sherlock

Leave a Reply

