Tag: The Writer’s Tag

THE WRITER'S TAG

I saw this tag on Life and Other Disasters and, as I have been trying to plan my writing a bit and even did some writing last week, I thought it would be a fun tag to do here. A couple of weeks ago I did the 777 Challenge and it inspired me to do some more for my writing. I’d like to post about my writing more often here. It may help keep me inspired. This tag includes 8 questions.


What genres, styles, and topics do you write about?
My usual genres are YA Contemporary and, more recently, Magical Realism. My style consists of a lot of inner dialogue and character study, and almost always involves a romance. Oh, and I work on my blog! The more I write on here, the more I want to write original fiction, so it all goes together.

How long have you been writing?
I believe the first time I wrote a story of any sort was when I was about 8. I wrote a book for an assignment and I’ve been writing since.

Why do you write?
The reason I write is because of my love for storytelling. I love storytelling in several formats, short stories, chaptered books, and screenwriting. When I was in college, I was sure that I wanted to write for TV or film, but after taking classes for it and fiction writing, I think my main love will always be books.

When is the best time to write?
I feel that I write better late at night, but as I tend to have an early bedtime for work, I don’t do it that often anymore. Now, I try to find quiet time to myself.

What parts of writing do you love and hate?
Love: plotting, character building, editing
Hate: sometimes the actual writing… and writer’s block

How do you overcome writer’s block?
Most of the time, I wait it out, but writing prompts are useful. I read a lot and watch television shows to get some inspiration.

Are you working on something at the moment?
I am! I’m still working on a NaNoWriMo project from a couple of years ago, a one-shot inspired by a television show I’m watching (which I haven’t done in several years), and some stories with a friend.

What are your writing goals this year?
I’d like to finish editing that NaNoWriMo book and continue writing it more regularly.


Are you a writer? I’d love to hear about your writing routine! Also, let me know if you post your original works online. I’ve yet to do that.

2 thoughts on “Tag: The Writer’s Tag

Leave a Reply

