Thursday’s Top 4: Books that Didn’t Need to be Series

THURSDAY'S TOP 4.png

Thursday’s Top 4 is a meme hosted by Ally from Ally Writes Things. I love memes that consist of listing things, so I’m looking forward to participating in it more often. This week’s theme is Books that Didn’t Need to be Series. I love standalone books and there are several YA series that I would have liked to have been a longer book instead of 2 or more.


Matched by Ally Condie
Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
Bumped by Megan McCafferty
Reboot by Amy Tintera

3 of the 4 series here are ones I never finished mostly because I didn’t care to continue in another book. I would have loved to read a slightly longer book for MatchedSweet Evil, and Bumped. I wanted to read more of Matched, but the first book didn’t make me want more at the end. The plot was good, though, and I still enjoy a dystopian novel from time to time, so a standalone would have been more interesting to me than a series. I had read several YA dystopian series by the time I got to it. For Sweet Evil, I read the first 2 books of the series. I’ve never been that into books about angels and demons, so I’d prefer a longer book in that genre. Megan McCafferty is one of my favorites, but I still haven’t read Thumped, the second and final book of the Bumped series. As for Reboot, I adored it and Rebel, but if it had been like 600 pages, it would have made a wonderful standalone YA novel. Still, I devoured them, so I liked them as 2 books, but 1 would have been great just to have the entire story in a single book.


Have you read any of these books? What do you think about them as series versus a standalone?

5 thoughts on “Thursday’s Top 4: Books that Didn’t Need to be Series

  1. Agreed with Reboot! (I haven’t read the others) I liked it but there was no need for it to be a series it could have been condensed into one action packed standalone and been much better 🙂 Great post ❤

Leave a Reply

