TV Review: Crazyhead (Series One)

CRAZYHEAD REVIEW

crazyheadTitle: Crazyhead
Creator: Howard Overman
Premiered: Dec 16, 2016 (Netflix)
Genre: Horror, Comedy
Rating: ★★★1/2

I tried to keep this review relatively spoiler free. Most plot mentioned is from the trailer, but I also included a bit more information that I felt important to a review. 

Crazyhead is a horror comedy from Howard Overman, the creator of Misfits. It stars Susan Wokoma as Raquel and Cara Theobold as Amy. There are a few other main characters, but these two are the leads and it’s so nice to see a female-driven supernatural show. Amy’s best friend Suzanne played by Riann Steele is also of importance to the plot. Most of the secondary characters are male, but Raquel and Amy are the focus, and that’s my favorite part of the show. 

Raquel and Amy can see demons. I was into the idea as soon as I saw that part, but the first few minutes of the show are a little cringe-y. There are moments throughout the show that I simply didn’t find funny, but the overall plot is exciting and it kept my attention for 6 episodes.

The friendship development is really natural, but it’s nice that these are two characters that probably wouldn’t be friends if they weren’t experiencing this. They argue a bit because they’re so different while still sticking up for one another because they kind of need to be together in order to survive. That’s one of my favorite tropes for shows like this. Raquel and Amy’s friendship keeps this show going and it’s wonderful to see how much love they have for each other. There’s also a gradual progression of newbie demon hunter to kickass demon hunter, and watching the two of them learn to work together is well done.

Sadly, some of the comedy relies on homophobic and sexist jokes, and I feel like the show does itself a huge disservice there. Take out all of those jokes and you have an unexpectedly fun show. Most of those jokes are said by Jake and that continues throughout the 6 episodes of the first season. It’s too bad because even he says that he knows he’s wrong but has a heart of gold. Unfortunately, I find that in a lot of MA-rated comedy. I will be giving the show another chance if there is a second season, but that is the one thing that I would like to see changed in the second season.

I feel like I can’t do a review for this show without mentioning that the last 3 British comedies I’ve watched have had Susan Wokoma in them, Chewing Gum, Crashing, and now Crazyhead. She plays completely different characters in each of those shows and I’d love to see her in some more things. She’s extremely talented. Cara Theobold was on Downton Abbey for a bit and I honestly didn’t recognize her at all. Again, she’s a great fit for the show and character.

Crazyhead gets 3 1/2 stars from me. It would be 4 if it didn’t have those jokes in it, and some of the other comedic moments that fell flat to me. If you like demon hunting and comedy combined with your horror, this could be a good choice for you. The female friendship is the best part of it. There are only 6 episodes in the first season and, aside from a couple of things, it’s a step for diversity on television.


Have you watched Crazyhead? 

One thought on “TV Review: Crazyhead (Series One)

Leave a Reply

