Book Haul #10

bookhaul10

It has been a few months since I’ve done a book haul because I’ve been trying to read books I own or just borrow from the library, but trips to the library are difficult because I can also buy books for under a dollar. Whoops. Still, I haven’t bought much and I did just completely my Goodreads reading challenge for the year, so I’ll consider them rewards.


Physical

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll (Everyman’s Library edition)
The Selected Poems of Emily Dickinson by Emily Dickinson

Chances are you already know that I bought (and read) Once and for All by Sarah Dessen, but I couldn’t let make this post without mentioning it again.

I went to the library to pick up my vacation reads and found about 10 books that I could have easily purchased, but I only had a little over a dollar with me. My bookcases and my TBR can breathe a sigh of relief.  I chose 2 that make the most sense for my collection. Alice because, well, it’s one of my favorite stories and I liked this Everyman’s paperback edition of the books. Then I chose the collection of Emily Dickinson poems because I would love to read more poetry and I always liked her poetry in class.

E-book
sherlockmangavol1
Sherlock: A Study in Pink (Sherlock, #1) by Steven Moffatt and Mark Gattis

It was only a matter of time before I read something to do with Sherlock again. This time, it’s the English translation of the manga. I’ve been seeing it on Instagram and I wanted the physical copy of it, but Amazon had the e-book version of it for .99. Couldn’t pass that up! I’ve read about half of it and, while I am liking it, there’s nothing new to it if you’ve watched the BBC show. Still, if you like anything Sherlock, it’s worth a read.

Library Loans

Shopaholic to the Stars (Shopaholic, #7) by Sophie Kinsella
Shopaholic to the Rescue (Shopaholic, #8) by Sophia Kinsella

Here are my vacation reads! I’m not leaving for another week, so it’s possible I’ll start Shopaholic to the Stars before that if I finish Jane Eyre, but I am wanting to read these during my trip. There’s no doubt in my mind that they’re going to be perfect beach and poolside reads. I may end up choosing an audiobook or an e-book to take just in case I decide to only read one, or in the unlikely event that I finish both, but I’m excited to pack them. It’s about time I dive back into Becky’s world.


What’s your ideal summer or vacation read? I have only been on a proper vacation a couple of times and each time, I have taken a chick lit book.

3 thoughts on “Book Haul #10

  1. I like the Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins as my vacation reads! They’re both easy to read and summery!

    • A Sarah Dessen book is a wonderful choice! I have to say that I read Anna and the French Kiss a few years ago and didn’t love it. I know how popular those books are, though, so I feel like I need to get them another shot.

Leave a Reply

