Tag: Scavenger Hunt Book Tag

I’ve seen posts like this done on blogs and on YouTube for the past few years and I’ve always been a fan of scavenger hunts, so I’m finally doing it myself! I think the last blog I saw it on was Zezee with Books. This was a lot of fun to do. I always think that I know every single book on my book shelves, but I feel like I know them more now. There are 19 prompts here, so it took a while to put this post together. I have to say that I’m satisfied with how it all turned out. Maybe I will use my own pictures in my posts more often.


Find a book with the letter “Z” in its title or the author’s name.
thebookthief-scavengerhunt
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I tried to find something else because I’m betting this is a common answer, but oh well. It is one of my favorite books.

Find a classic.
daisymiller-scavengerhunt.jpg
Daisy Miller by Henry James
This was a tough decision because I have a lot of classics. This is one my TBR shelf and I think it’s a lovely cover.

Find the oldest book on your shelves.
thecatcherintherye-scavengerhunt.jpg
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
This is a hardcover copy of The Catcher in the Rye from 1951. I believe I bought this during high school when I was going through an angsty literature phase. (But it’s still a favorite of mine.)

Find a book with a key on its cover.
lockandkey-scavengerhuntlockandkeyii-scavengerhunt
Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
When I read this prompt, I went straight to it. There may be another book on my shelves with a key on it, but I couldn’t do a book post without mentioning Sarah Dessen!

Find something on your bookshelves that isn’t a book.
funkopop-scavengerhunt.jpg
Here’s my Funko Pop! collection. They’re on the top of one of my bookcases. There are so many that I would love to have, but I am happy with the ones that I have. I’ve only been collecting since the beginning of this year, so I may get some more soon. There’s a lot of Sherlock stuff going on here with a couple of Nerdy Post prints and a bookmark I bought from Etsy, so we can also consider it my Sherlock shrine.

Find a book with an animal on the cover.
wehavealwayslivedinthecastle-scavengerhunt
We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Another that I immediately went to when I saw the prompt. This is a beautiful copy of one of my favorite books.

Find a book with a girl in the cover.
littlealtarseverywhere-scavengerhunt
Little Altars Everywhere by Rebecca Wells
Here’s another book from my TBR shelf. My sister gave me Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood a long time and then I believe I bought this book myself. One day I’ll finally read this series. I haven’t even seen the movie, so I don’t know much about it, but they seem like something I would enjoy.

Find a non-YA book.
sharpobjects-scavengerhunt
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
Gillian Flynn quickly became one of my favorite authors after I read this book. It was my first of her books, but it’s my favorite that she has published. I can’t wait to read more of her work.

Find a book with stars on its cover.
thenightcircus-scavengerhuntthenightcirusii-scavengerhunt
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
This is one of my favorite books and I love the cover. The stars are a perfect addition to this picture.

Find a book with golden letters.
wutheringheights-scavengerhunt
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
You can’t tell much in this picture (I tried for a closeup, but it didn’t turn out too well), but this may be the only book I have with golden letters. Darn that ugly price on there… One day I would like a nicer copy, but first I need to read it.

Find a book with a male protagonist.
thedouble-scavengerhunt
I have several books with male main characters, but they’re not all protagonists in the sense that they’re the “good” character. This one calls the main character a protagonist right on the back of the book, so I chose this one. Also one that I need to read, but I am looking forward to it.

Find a book with only words on it.
ninestories-scavengerhunt
Nine Stories by J.D. Salinger
Another one that I thought was going to be difficult to do, but then I saw this book! And then I remembered about 3 more with just words.

Find a book with illustrations in it.
everyboysgotone-scavengerhunteveryboysgotoneii-scavengerhunt
Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot
This is a cute illustration! I’ve had this book since high school when I was trying to read through Meg Cabot’s entire bibliography. Still haven’t managed to do that, but I did manage to get this one signed by her at a reading.

Find a diary (true or fictional).
annefrank-scavengerhunt
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
There are a lot of books on my bookcase that I have yet to read, and some of them are extremely popular and loved novels, but this may be the most important book that I haven’t read. I’m torn on whether I want to read it.

Find a book written by someone with a common name (like Smith).
nibblesandme-scavengerhunt
Nibbles and Me by Elizabeth Taylor
I included this in my May reviews. It’s a cute glimpse into Elizabeth Taylor’s younger years and the book is also cute physically.

Find a book that has a closeup of something on it.
thedevilofnanking-scavengerhunt
The Devil of Nanking by Mo Hayder
I’ve read two other books by Mo Hayder and they were both quite disturbing, and I loved them. One day I may finish her Jack Caffery series, but I would also like to read one of her standalone novels. (Ugh at that price sticker that didn’t completely come off.)

Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period.
thewhitequeen-scavengerhunt
The White Queen by Phillippa Gregory
Most of the historical fiction I own is set during the Tudor era, but The White Queen is about the Plantagenets, most notably Elizabeth Woodville, Edward IV’s queen. So, here we go, the 1400s. I’ve read one Phillipa Gregory book before, and I know there are some negative opinions on her accuracy, but I did love the miniseries for this book.

Find a hardcover book without a jacket.
alicesadventures-scavengerhunt
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
I would love to have more hardcover books like this one. There’s something so nice about one without a jacket, and this is the only one I have that didn’t come with a jacket. I also need to read this in its entirety. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is one of my favorite stories, but I don’t know much about Through the Looking Glass.

Find a teal/turquoise colored book.
secondhelpings-scavengerhunt
Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty
Despite all of the blue books that I have, I didn’t think I would have one that was teal or turquoise. I had to get some help to figure out which one fit this the most, but I’m happy with this one. There is much more of the color on the back and inside flaps.


If you have ever done this post or happen to do it soon, please let me know. I would love to see what you found!

Leave a Reply

