Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out

I saw this tag on The Sassy Book Geek and I realized that I haven’t done a wrap-up post for the first half of the year. This was originally created by ReadLikeWildfire and elyjane on YouTube. There are 15 questions and I like that it makes you think about what you’ve read. I actually did this last year as well, so it’s definitely interesting to see the books there that I still haven’t read… but that gives me more motivation. At this point in the year, I have read 15 books and my Goodreads goal is 30.


Best book you’ve read so far in 2017

 

 

Atonement by Ian McEwan
Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

This has to be a tie between Atonement and Crown of Midnight. They both broke my hear in different ways, but for similar reasons, and I love the way both were written. For being two completely different books, I love that there are some similarities between them that makes them such emotional reads.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017
crownofmidnight
Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

When I finished Throne of Glass, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be continuing with the series right away, but I ended up reading the second book immediately and it solidified that I have to continue reading the series.

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to
whendimplemetrishi
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

I mentioned this in Wednesday’s post as a book I want to read this summer.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year
ihateeveryonebutyou
I Have Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin

Biggest disappointment
boomerangii
Boomerang (Boomerang, #1) by Noelle August

This wasn’t bad book, but I think I was expecting something a little different at the time.

Biggest surprise
agameforswallows
Game for Swallows: To Die, to Leave, to Return by Zeina Abirached

A beautiful and powerful graphic memoir. I suggest it to anyone who liked Persepolis, but it stands on its own. I can’t wait to read another one of her books.

Favorite new author (Debut or new to you)
Sarah J. Maas. I knew how loved she was before I started reading her books and I really like her characters. I’m wanting to continue the Throne of Glass series and then start A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Newest fictional crush
Chaol Westfall

Newest favorite character
Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass and Maya from The Star-Touched Queen

Book that made you cry
atonementii
Atonement by Ian McEwan

I knew going in that I would be hurt, but I didn’t expect it to be so much!

Book that made you happy
mynotsoperfectlife
My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

First book I read in 2017 and it was a nice way to start the year.

Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year
atonementmovie
Atonement, again. I’m glad that I read the book first because there are parts where the insight into someone’s mind is necessary to understand the story and character a little more. It’s a well done movie, though, and I’m sure it can be viewed without reading the book first.

Favorite review you’ve written this year
Nothing specific, but I am glad that I’ve managed to write a short review for every book that I’ve read so far this year.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
onceandforallii
Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

This book is beautiful with and without the dust jacket. The colors are so pretty. It looks much better in person than it does on a screen.

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

 

 

The Secret Ingredient of Wishes by Susan Bishop Crispell
Dracula by Bram Stoker
Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Considering The Secret Ingredient of Wishes was one of the books I listed in this post last year as a book to read by the end of the year… it seems fitting to include it here. I would love like to read Dracula in its entirety, perhaps around Halloween, and I want to read more thrillers so I included Into the Water.

Tag:
YOU! Please let me know if you do this post.

How many books have you read this year? What has been your favorite?

Leave a Reply

