Summer TBR

Happy Summer! I don’t usually set myself up like this, but my reading has been unfortunately slow lately. Considering I’m on vacation from work, you would think I would be reading all the time! I have caught up on Supernatural from being 2 and a half seasons behind and, yes, I have left my house quite a lot, but my reading has taken a bit of a hit. But with a trip coming up, I thought it would be a nice time to decide the books I’m going to bring with me and the ones I plan to read in the coming months.


Current Read

onceandforallii
Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

I’m almost finished with this one! I have about 130 pages left and, as expected, I adore it. It ended up being a sadder book than I expected, but Sarah Dessen has a gift of also making it a cute book to read. Excited to finish it. It’s becoming one of my favorites from her.

Vacation Reads

Shopaholic to the Stars (Shopaholic, #7) by Sophie Kinsella
Shopaholic to the Rescue (Shopaholic, #8) by Sophia Kinsella

It’s time to get some of my beach reading done while also catching up on a loved series. I started Shopaholic to the Stars after it was released and couldn’t get into at the time, but I’m hoping that reading it during my vacation may be a better experience. They’re not the shortest books, but with a 6-hour car ride to and from and downtime at the beach and pool, I’d like to finish at least 1 of them.

Audiobooks


Outlander (Outlander, #1) by Diana Gabaldon
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I don’t plan on starting another series until I’m caught up or finished with one, but I do want to get to Outlander this summer. There’s no way I could read that book without a little assistance from audio due to its size, so I will be reading and listening to it. It’s also about time I get to one of the books that has been on my TBR shelf (on Goodreads and in my house) for years, Jane Eyre. Maybe an audiobook can help me with that one as well. It’s possible I’ll end up choosing a different classic to listen to, but this is my choice at the moment.

ARCs
ihateeveryonebutyou
I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin

This is the book I was reading before Once and For All was released. Sorry! It’s coming out in September and I’m wanting to finish it soon, especially in advance of its release date.

New and Upcoming Releases

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvart
The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

New YA releases! All of these sound like wonderful read. When Dimple Met Rishi is a contemporary romance and I think it will be unlike most of the ones I’ve read. It has great ratings and I’m excited to read it. As for Royal Bastards and The Library of Fates, these are both standalone YA Fantasy books. Beyond that, they are royal fantasies, and we all know how I feel about that.

Others
(AKA books I own that I may not get to, but I can try)

Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood
The Secret Ingredient of Wishes by Susan Bishop Crispell
Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir

My hope is to read more Margaret Atwood soon. I own a few of her books that I haven’t read, Hag-Seed being one of them, and The Handmaid’s Tale is a favorite of mine. I’d love to experience some of her other works. A genre that I haven’t read much of recently is magical realism, and The Secret Ingredient of Wishes has been on my shelf for about a year or so. Another book that I’ve had for a while is Innocent Traitor, a historical fiction novel about Lady Jane Grey. I read The Lady Elizabeth by Weir and I’d like to read something historical soon. It may end up being another one on my shelf, perhaps a Philippa Gregory book, but I wanted to include something historical in this post.


Do you stick to your TBR or are you more of a mood reader? In general, I’m a mood reader, but I’m going to see how this works out for me. I won’t be too disappointed if I don’t get all of these books read in the next few months, but I can at least give it a shot.

5 thoughts on “Summer TBR

Leave a Reply

