Discussion: Book Series

Over the past couple of years, I’ve tried my best to not get into too many book series. I’m always worried that I’m not reading enough variety when I do that, but I realized just how much I love series this year. It’s so nice to read a book where you already know the characters and understand their world without having to read 100 pages to get into the action. In my journey to read less series, I ended up leaving some of the ones I was reading behind when I used to marathon read them (for the most part). So, I thought it would be nice to make a post about the series that I’m currently reading. Maybe I will finish them or catch up with them in the next year or so.


 

  • Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson – I’ve mentioned this one a few times because I’ve been behind for the last year or so, but I do plan on getting the latest volumes soon! Currently on Volume 3.
  • Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson – This is the first superhero graphic novel series that I’ve ever read, and there have been a few times that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to keep reading, but I love Kamala too much. She was my first Funko Pop! Currently on Volume 4.
  • The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman – I’m on Volume 3 of this one and I need to continue. There are so many!

 

  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – This is my most recent series and, if this was 2 years ago, I would probably already be on book 5. As it is, I’m on book 3, Heir of Fire.
  • White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter – One day I will finally read A Mad Zombie Party, book 4, from this series. It was one of my favorites a few years ago.
  • Brightest Kind of Darkness by P.T. Michelle – Another favorite series from a few years ago. I remember when book 4, Desire, came out and for some reason I didn’t read it. There are some topics that ended up coming up in book 3 that I’m not usually a fan of, but I have to see how this series ends.

 

  • Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella – I’ve been reading this series longer than any other, for over 10 years, and I’m on book 7, Shopaholic to the Stars. It was a DNF book for me, but I am planning on taking it with me on vacation this summer.
  • The Body Finder by Kimberley Derting – There are only 4 books in this series, and I was so into the first 2 when I read them. They’re great books. I have to read books 3 and 4 soon! The next one I need to read is The Last Echo.
  • Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle – Another newer series for me and I’m so into them. I can’t wait to read book 3, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.

I will do my very best to not start any new series before I’m finished with some of these, but I can’t promise anything. How do you read series? Do you read the entire series as a marathon or do you skip around?

5 thoughts on “Discussion: Book Series

  1. I read series a lot but I try to break up how much time (books in a row) I spend with any given series. I either take a break from that series and continue/start a new one or read a stand alone (the latter I’m trying to do more often. I’ve never marathon read a series before, one after the over until it’s all over.

    • For the most part, I can read 3 books in a row and then I try to give it a little rest, either because I can’t get the book at that time (I get a lot at the library) or I just want to read something else. But if I finish it within a couple of months, I consider it a marathon of sorts. Maybe that’s not the correct definition, but… oh well. 🙂

  2. I used to marathon them but these days I skip around and often forget to complete them. If I love a series, I don’t want it to end so I avoid the last book. And if I hate a series, I don’t care how it ends so I avoid the last books and probably some of the books preceding it. I guess I only complete series that I neither love nor hate.

    • I know what you mean about loving a series and not wanting it to end. I felt that way with the Vampire Academy series. Almost didn’t read the last book. In fact, I still haven’t read the last Divergent book despite knowing what happens. There are a few series I’ve only read one or two books of myself, Fallen and Matched being two that stand out to me, but if I love a series, I do try to finish it even if I don’t want it to end.

Leave a Reply

