May Book Reviews: Crown of Midnight, Nibbles and Me, and The Star-Touched Queen

May was a slow reading month for me. However, the books I read were all wonderful reads that may be some of my favorites of the year. I only read 3 books, but I did start a couple others that I decided not to finish.


Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas / 2013 / Bloomsbury USA Childrens / ★★★★★

As soon as I finished Throne of Glass, I knew I had to continue the series and I picked up Crown of Midnight almost immediately. This one had so much goodness and even more heartbreak, in the best way possible, and the journey back into this world was worth it. Near the end of the book I had to switch to the audiobook for time reasons, and I loved that as well. It was beautifully performed and might have even helped me to love it more. I gave this book 5 stars for the character development, world building, and relationship. At the moment, I am a Calaena and Chaol fan and I don’t see that changing in the future. We’ll see if that becomes a problem, but I don’t know anything else about the books, so I’m fine with finding out as I go. But as much as I loved it, I am taking a short emotional break from the series.

Nibbles and Me by Elizabeth Taylor / 2002 / Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing / ★★★★

I’ve had this book for several years and I finally picked it up one afternoon when I was without electricity. I hate that it sounds like that that’s the only reason I would read it, but I was looking for something short and cute, and this was perfect for the moment. It’s a book written by a 13-year-old Elizabeth Taylor about her favorite pet, Nibbles the chipmunk. It’s such a sweetly written book and the illustrations, also drawn by the young Ms. Taylor, are adorable. I am keeping this book on my shelf, now moved the the ‘read’ shelf, and I would love to one day share this with my niece or nephew or my own children. While I wouldn’t personally have a chipmunk on a string as a pet, it’s easy to see how much she loved every single one of her pets and what they all meant to her as living creatures.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi / 2016 / St. Martin’s Griffin / ★★★★

I am continuing on my royal fantasy phase and this is possibly the biggest fantasy book I’ve read in a long time. There are some things in here that I didn’t expect, and in some ways that did take me out of the book a few times, so I’m giving it 4.5 stars, but other parts of it made up for the things that were a little too strange even for me. Beautiful writing, for one, but also the relationship and the struggles that Maya experiences. I didn’t know that I would enjoy the relationship aspect as much as I did, but it managed to grab me almost from the moment they met. I won this in a Goodreads giveaway and this is an honest review.


DNF

I started an audibook version of The Tempest by William Shakespeare that I had intended to listen to while getting ready for work. The audiobook and the story were fine, and I loved that this audiobook had sound effects to make it feel like I was watching the play, but I ended up putting it on hold. I will finish it one day because I want to listen to it before I read Hag-Seed by Maragaret Atwood. And while listening to it, I realized that I would love to read/listen to more Shakespeare and other classic plays.

I also tried to finish Every Frenchman Has One by Olivia De Havilland. I attempted to read this book on a couple of occasions and unfortunately it just wasn’t for me. My hopes for it were high and I feel that at a different time, I would have loved it. The writing is fine, in fact I’ll give it 4 stars, but the stories simply didn’t interest me. I’m a huge fan of classic films, however, so I loved reading about the author’s life as an actress. My favorite part of the book came at the beginning when de Havilland detailed her reaction to seeing herself on screen and hearing those around her talking about the actress. Sadly, for me, my interest in the stories went down from there. Maybe one day I’ll pick it up on an afternoon and skim through it, but right now, it wasn’t for me. 2 stars for the complete book. I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

One thought on “May Book Reviews: Crown of Midnight, Nibbles and Me, and The Star-Touched Queen

Leave a Reply

