April Book Reviews: More Sherlock, Atonement, and Throne of Glass

This was a heavy reading month. I read 3 books in April, but somehow it felt like more. And I really loved all of them. They were all so different from one another, but I gave them all about a 4.5 star rating.


The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle / 1890 / ★★★★

I started this on April 1st and I finished it within a couple of days. It is relatively short, but it was a lot more enjoyable than A Study in Scarlet for me. It’s always fun when you already know the characters, so their stories are more exciting and you want to know more right then and there, and there is more to learn about them in this book. I liked the mystery and its conclusion a lot and I liked the inclusion of some more characters that I have been wanting to read in the books. The relationships and the exploration of Sherlock’s mind and personality is possibly my favorite part of this series, even more than the mysteries. 4.5 stars because sometimes I find the wrapping up of the mystery to be a little too wordy, but that’s Sherlock for you and I can’t hate that. But when does Moriarty show up? Hmm.

Atonement by Ian McEwan / 2001 / Anchor Books / ★★★★★

This book blew me away. I had a feeling I would like it, because I love historical fiction and this one has a huge romance in it, and it didn’t let me down. The storytelling in this book is so beautiful, and I found myself more into the war scenes than in the family life. That was a bit surprising to me, but that goes to show you that a great writer can write about anything. I followed up my reading of this with a viewing of the movie, and they both did a nice job portraying the characters to fit the medium. The controversy of the characters and people’s reactions to them did make a bit nervous before I read it, but I felt that McEwan did a wonderful job explaining why everything happened the way it did. Such a heartbreaking, but beautiful story. I will definitely be looking into more of Ian McEwan’s books.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas / 2012 / Bloomsbury USA Childrens / ★★★★★

I’ve had this book in my possession for a couple of years and I remember buying it because I was seeing it all over booktube and book blogs. I had to get it! But it sat on my shelf for those couple of years without much of a thought. Then a friend personally recommended it to me when I was craving some royal fantasy, and I am so glad that she did! I am itching to read the second book and I will likely be starting it as soon as I finish writing this review. The characters are so multidimensional and I love that there is no such thing as good or evil in this series, at least not at this point. No one is perfect or pure; they all have their past or things they can’t change about their history or lineage. That’s something I’ve always loved about royal fiction and a lot of fantasy novels are like that too, so they go well together. There is a bit of a love triangle in this book, which I tend to shy away from these days, but Maas does a great job at making it not too obnoxious that two guys suddenly love one girl. Maybe it’s because the guys are both great choices. (But I totally have my preference…) And the actual plot is exciting and makes it hard to put down too! I’m giving it 4.5 stars because there is a little bit of the plot that I’m not too sure I like yet, but I think I’ll figure it out in the second book. Basically, I love the characters, the relationships, the setting, and (most of) the plot and I want to read more right now!

Leave a Reply

