Goodreads 2017 Challenge: The Halfway Mark

This year, for the Goodreads Challenge, I gave myself the goal of reading 20 books. It’s not a very large number, but it seemed doable for me because my reading in the past couple of years has been slow. It’s mostly due to work, but also because of things like Netflix. But somehow I’ve already read 10 books in less than 3 and a half months and I’m proud of that. Again, not a big number, but it’s something I didn’t expect to happen so early and that means I’m 5 books ahead of schedule. So I wanted to share a few of my favorites from these 10 books and how I intend to complete the challenge.


Graphic novels are wonderful pieces of art and literature that I love to read, and they usually don’t take long. I have several on my TBR list right now and if I’m ever in a reading slump, I will read one.

These are a few of my favorite novels that I’ve read so far this year. Obviously, I had to go wtih a Sophie Kinsella book and a summer themed contemporary. One of my favorite authors and one of my favorite genres. Actually, My Not So Perfect Life is also summer themed, so best of both worlds right there. And then there is Sherlock. I love a good mystery and I’ve been enjoying getting into a new series after not reading many the last couple of years.

I would love to finish up the Goodreads challenge I set for myself before the end of the year, and I am currently trying to read at night before bed and I’m not letting myself watch Netflix that much during the week. There are only a couple of shows I watch as they air, so this gives me a little extra time after work to read. And I’m happy with that arrangement right now. It has helped me read books a lot quicker and I find myself more involved in the stories now that it doesn’t take me as long to read them. I may give a read-a-thon a try this summer as well.


Do you have any tips to read more? Did you give yourself a reading challenge (number or theme) this year?

I meant to post this yesterday, but I forgot to schedule it for then. Big whoops. But since writing the post, I did finish another book!

Leave a Reply

