March Book Reviews: YA/NA Contemporary and Sherlock (!)

I had a fun reading month! Not only did I read 3 books, which I consider to be wonderful, but I found them all exciting in their own ways.


Boomerang by Noelle August / July 8th 2014 / William Morrow Paperbacks /  ★★★

I started reading this in February, but it took me a bit longer to finish than I would have liked. Overall, I liked the characters and thought that the relationship was cute and funny and sometimes frustrating like the best ones, but I felt like the book was a bit longer than was necessary. Something I loved was that it was written by two people! I’ve never read anything by either of the writers, but their writing styles worked really well together.

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick / April 15th 2014 / Dial Books for Young Readers / ★★★★

As soon as the weather began to warm up, I started craving some contemporary YA, and this one just so happens to be set in a beach town. There’s something about that setting that I love! Maybe it’s the perfect weather or the tension of the romance… Hmm, or both. There were a lot of things in this book that I really liked, including Gwen’s job, her family life and relationship with her cousin, and finding out some things from her past. Loved almost all of the characters! I’ll definitely be looking forward to more of Fitzpatrick’s books.

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle / 1887 / ★★★★

This was a big deal read for me. My expectations were high considering how much I love the BBC series and the Sherlock stories that I’ve studied before. Thankfully those expectations were met! I was surprised by certain parts, which I wasn’t expecting to happen, and I had a lot of fun reading this book. I absolutely loved learning more about the origin of these classic characters and stories. I started the second book almost immediately after finishing this first mystery.

Leave a Reply

