February Book Reviews: The Walking Dead, A Game for Swallows, and The Tent

I read 3 more books in February! For me, this is impressive, and I’m glad that I’m a little ahead on my Goodreads challenge. I’m hoping to read more in March since I will soon be on a short vacation from work, but here are my thoughts on the books I read in February.


The Walking Dead, Vol. 2: Miles Behind Us by Robert Kirkman / November 24, 2004 / Image Comics / ★★★★

Learning even more about the characters I already love was so fun! I loved seeing some more characters from the show, especially ones that I haven’t seen in a few seasons, and finding out how they fared in the book. And seeing how different some of the relationships are was interesting. I borrowed this from my library as an e-book, but I had to read it on the computer and that made it take a couple of days longer than I think it would have if I was reading a physical copy or an e-book on my Kindle. I’m looking forward to reading Vol. 3 on my Kindle and then going to the library to find the physical copies they own. Right now, I’m planning on continuing the series until I’m ahead of the show! Who knows if I’ll make it that far, but it’s worth a shot.

A Game for Swallows: To Die, to Leave, to Return by Zeina Abirached / September 1, 2012 / Graphic Universe / ★★★★★

The pictures in this book are amazing! There are several that I would put on my wall if I was able, and I loved the way the story was sometimes told with just images. I have seen a few people compare this book to Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, and I’m not sure if that’s because of the similar art style or because of the characters’ history living around war. Either way, I just think A Game for Swallows deserves its own recognition. They’re different enough to not warrant any comparing, in my opinion, but I realize that it’s not always a bad thing to compare two books that you enjoy. I would love to read I Remember Beirut by this author. And I still want some of these pages as art.

The Tent by Margaret Atwood / January 1, 2006 / Nan A. Talese / ★★★★

This book was completely different from what I was imagining when I first requested it from the library. I knew it was a book of short stories, but I was not expecting the types of stories that were in this book. It’s the second Margaret Atwood that I’ve ever read, after The Handmaid’s Tale, and I found it very inspiring. It made me want to write more often. The stories were out of nowhere and sometimes bizarre, but I found myself reading them faster and faster. I felt like I was reading experimental fiction that was prompted during some stories and other times it felt like someone was questioning the existence of everyone and putting it on paper. And if that doesn’t make sense, you just need to read the book. I can’t wait to read more of her novels and her short stories.

Leave a Reply

