Book Haul #9

I mentioned in my last book haul post that my favorite independent bookstore was closing. It has closed since that last post, but I managed to go there one last time to buy a few books. Not like I needed to add more books to my TBR shelf, but I just couldn’t help myself, even if I knew nothing about any of these books when I bought them.


The Purple Shroud: A Novel of Empress Theodora by Stella Duffy
Little Century by Anna Keesey
Between You and Me by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus
Shirley by Susan Scarf Merrell

  • The Purple Shroud is the second in a series, but it sounds like it can be a standalone novel. I don’t know a thing about Empress Theodora, and I’ve never read any books about the Byzantine Empire, so I’m curious as to how the author will write these historical figures and time period. I’ll have to find out for sure if this book can be read alone before I read it, so I may have to read the first book as well. 
  • I have seen Little Century on a few reading lists. It sounds like it’s set during the wild west, which is new to me. I’m a bit apprehensive about reading something that may turn out to be a western, but I am opening to trying it. Who knows, maybe I’ll enjoy the time period and look for more with a similar setting.
  • Unlike the other books in this haul, I have read a few books by the authors of Between You and Me, Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus. They wrote The Nanny Diaries. This book of theirs doesn’t have a very good rating on Goodreads, but I’m open to reading it and seeing what I think. I usually enjoy their books and I even have one on my TBR list already.
  • Now, I put this book down a couple of times before I finally decided to read it. It’s relatively short and I love Shirley Jackson, so I bought it. I am interested in seeing how this author writes about someone who was alive in the last century. Most books I read about actual people are set several hundred years ago. Another one that I’m a bit unsure about reading, but also too curious to not give it a shot.

Have you read any of these books?

I’m not sure when I’ll have another book haul post because I am going to try again to hold off on buying unless I “need” them. And sorry for the slow posts recently! I have been sick the past couple of weeks and haven’t been able to focus on more than work and sleep. I should have 3 posts this week, though.

Leave a Reply

