Friday Finds #4

Friday Finds is a meme that I haven’t done in a year and a half. I’m not sure who, if anyone, is currently hosting it, but it was hosted by A Daily Rhythm. If you know anything about this, please do let me know. But I still like this idea of posting about books that you’ve discovered recently and added to your TBR shelf, so here we go: 6 books that I’ve added this year.


A Game of Swallows: To Die, To Leave, To Return by Zeina Abirached
Preacher, Volume 1: Gone to Texas by Garth Ennis
March: Book One by John Lewis

Here are just a few of the graphic novels that I’ve added lately. I’ve been finding more and more and I’m hoping to be able to read several in the next week or so. Right now I don’t know many details on these, but I’m excited to read them and see what they’re about. I know that two of them are non-fiction, and after reading Persepolis, I think I could really get into reading non-fiction in graphic novel form. As for Preacher, the show looks fun, so I’d love to see what that’s about as well. 

I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin
In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero
Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

There is no reason to group these three together, but it does show a bit of the variety on my TBR shelf. I found out about I Hate Everyone But You, a YA novel, on the authors’ Just Between Us channel on YouTube. (I’m an Allison.) I love their videos and I can’t wait to read a book that they’ve written together. In the Country We Love is a biographical memoir by Diane Guerrero, an actress you’ve probably seen on either Orange is the New Black or Jane the Virgin. It focuses on the deportation of her family, which left her in the United States without them, and how she faced that and forged a life of her own. I know it will be heartbreaking to read parts of this, but I’m sure that it will be eyeopening and inspirational in other ways. Into the Water is the second book by The Girl on the Train author Paula Hawkins. It comes out in May and I added it to my TBR shelf as soon as I saw it.

Have you added anything new to your TBR shelf recently? One of these books?

Leave a Reply

