January Book Reviews: Sophie Kinsella, The Walking Dead, and Rad Women

I’ve read 3 books so far this year, which is an accomplishment for me at this point, and I’m excited to share my thoughts on them. Instead of doing individual review posts for each book I read, I decided to try out something a little new where I take a few books at a time and give a short summary of my thoughts. I’m hoping that this will make it easier for me to keep up with writing reviews and also posting.


My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella / February 7, 2017 / Bantam Press / ★★★★ ½

Sometimes you just need some chick lit, and Sophie Kinsella is my absolute favorite. I’ve been reading her books since high school and I was super excited to review an ARC for her latest release. This book gave me everything that makes a Sophie Kinsella book great and then some. A sweet and sincere novel, this is going to be a great read on the beach for a lot of people this year. The glamping story line makes me want to go glamping and also work at a glamping site. That would be a comedic book in and of itself. There are some immature moments, which is part of life, but this is probably the most mature Kinsella book I’ve read, and one of my new favorites. It has great, fleshed out characters, funny moments that remind me of Becky Bloomwood’s family, and it feels current. Oh, and there’s some romance in there. I’ve been behind on the Shopaholic series, but this has made me want to catch up soon. I received a NetGalley e-ARC of My Not So Perfect Life in exchange for an honest review, and then I won a physical copy. Double win.

The Walking Dead, Vol. 01: Days Gone Bye by Robert Kirkman / May 1, 2004 / Image Comics / ★★★★★

One of my favorite shows is The Walking Dead. I knew it was a series of comics before I watched it, but at the time I wasn’t that interested in reading any comics and figured I wouldn’t like them anyway. Boy, was I wrong. I read this in about a day and a half. If I hadn’t had to work or sleep, it would have been less. This reminded me of great things from the first few episodes and debut season, and I absolutely loved seeing Rick, Carl, Glenn, and everyone else as their comic book selves. But my favorite part of reading this volume was seeing the differences between the books and the show. There is one moment at the end of this book that made me wish the show hadn’t changed some things up! If you’ve read the book and watched the show, you may know what I’m talking about. Unfortunately my library system doesn’t have the second volume in a format that I can read, so I will have to get it somewhere else soon. I’m excited to get further into it.

Rad American Women A-Z by Kate Schatz / April 7th, 2015 / City Lights Publishers / ★★★★★

This was a surprise pick for me. I saw Rad Women Worldwide at a bookstore this weekend, and I love stories about women, so I immediately looked for it at the library. They didn’t have it, but they did have the first of the series. No better place to start than at the beginning, so I decided to check it out. It was such an easy and quick read. It took me a few letters/women to realize that it’s a book meant for a slightly younger crowd, but that’s fine! I love that this sort of book is accessible to younger people. I enjoyed the picture style and how the history of each woman was a nice taste of their lives. There are a few that I already want to research on my own time. It was nice to see a few women who I’ve heard about all my life but who I knew very little about, but there were so many women in this book that I’ve never even heard about. That makes me a little sad, but also gave me the opportunity to feel appreciation for women who have done so much for numerous American communities. I can’t wait to read about women worldwide.

Leave a Reply

