TV/Film Review: The Buccaneers & Persepolis

Today I have two short reviews on a couple of things that I’ve been watching that I didn’t include in my last What I’ve Been Watching post. I wanted to give them both their own posts, but decided to put them together since they have something in common: they’re based on books.


thebuccaneers
The Buccaneers (TV mini-series) 1995

This is based on a novel by Edith Wharton that I, admittedly, had never read or heard of, but I was interested in the idea because usually my historical drama picks are set in England. Most of this is as well, but the main characters are American, and that makes a bit of a difference. In fact, the differences between the American characters and the English characters was one of my favorite parts of the story. I also loved Annable/Nan and Laura’s relationship. I watched this for four nights and it was the perfect before bed show. There was so much more drama in it than I expected! This is the kind of story that I would love to listen to as an audiobook. I may even enjoy it more that way. Time for me to check out Edith Wharton’s books! ★★★★

persepolis
Persepolis (film) 2007

Unlike The Buccaneers, I have read Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. In fact, I wrote a review on it on this very blog over a year ago. I gave the book 4 stars, but I have to give the movie 5 stars. Not because I think it’s better than the book, but because it breathes so much life into it and that makes me appreciate it more. It’s nice to hear the characters speak and to hear music along with some of the scenes. I’ve never seen anything quite like it and to see a graphic novel move on screen is something I wish I could see more. There are a few places where it falls short of the book, because there’s only so much you can fit on the screen when there’s so much in the book, but I had been waiting to see this movie for years and it did not disappoint. ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

