Discussion: The Perfect (Bookish) Night In

Last week Leesa mattresses contacted me and asked if I’d be interested in talking about my perfect day or night in, and I thought that was a great idea. I’ve heard about this company through several podcasts and I’ve found their giving to be commendable. Although this isn’t a sponsored post and I’m not receiving anything for making it, I’m excited to share this with everyone because I love reading about how people relax after a long day or a taxing week. Maybe mine with give you some ideas. Here is my definition of my perfect day or night in, with a bit of a bookish twist because that’s how I live my life.


I am on my feet for the majority of my time at work. There is little to no downtime except for my break, and after a long day or an even longer week, I’m ready to get in my bed and stay there. Now, I don’t typically jump back into bed when I get home, but there is usually a good chunk of the weekend dedicated to me relaxing (and reading). And my bed is the best place to do that.

The weather here has been all over the place, from 1 degree Fahrenheit one week to 70+ the next, but the way I relax really doesn’t change. I prefer to spend my days or nights in while laying on my bed, but sometimes I’ll lay back on the couch.

My essentials are a book (currently, My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella), my television connected to Netflix (you know how much I love historical dramas), and my phone. I like to read a bit, watch a little, and do it all over again. A few extras are earbuds, a blanket, water or hot tea, and my Kindle if I’m reading an e-book or want to play a game. I like to play games between reading and watching television to give it some variety. My current obsession is the Tsum Tsum game I have on my phone. I play that during my lunch break to have mini me time at work! When it comes to food, on these days I’m all about easy snacks and putting something in the microwave. Lots of popcorn. Oh! And fuzzy socks.

What are your essentials for a day or night in? Thanks to Leesa for reaching out to me. I like having posts every once in a while that are a tad more personal, and I’d love to know what you need to enjoy your time to yourself.

Leave a Reply

