What I’ve Been Watching #4

The last time I posted about what I’ve been watching was in September, so I have watched a lot of Netflix since then. Too much? That’s up for debate. Either way, I have been
watching a lot of great shows. And they all have one thing in common; they’re historical dramas.


  • Call the Midwife – Seasons 4 and 5, more specifically. This is one of those shows that I was watching on Netflix, then watched as it aired on PBS, gave it a rest, and then fell back in love with it on Netflix. And what a ride the past 2 seasons have been. So much emotion in this show and I love how the characters and relationships have developed over the years. My favorite characters are Trixie and Patsy. I haven’t watched the Christmas special from 2016, so I should do that before season 6!
  • The Crown – I have been looking forward to this since I saw a 30 second teaser trailer of it on YouTube months ago. This is an era of English royal history that I don’t know too much about, so I was constantly researching events and people while watching, and that made it a little more enjoyable. It also “spoiled” me on a couple of things, but the knowledge was worth it. As an American, I feel that I don’t know much about Queen Elizabeth II or her family, other than far back, so it was nice to see her as a younger woman. And congrats to Claire Foy and the show for their Golden Globe wins! I wasn’t exactly expecting it after all of the Stranger Things (love!) buzz last summer.
  • The Paradise – Ugh. My heart. I didn’t expect to love this show as much as I did, and I absolutely adored it. It introduced me to some female characters, like all of them. It was in my queue for a couple of years because I wasn’t sure for a while if it was finished or still on the air, so one day I found out that it wasn’t coming back for a 3rd season (which is an outrage) and finally started watching it. And it’s based on a book that I haven’t read, and probably won’t because it’s part of a large series of books, but the overall story made for a great show.
  • Medici: Masters of Florence – I’ll be honest, it didn’t live up to my expectations, but I was still wanting more by the end of the season. I would love to read a book about this family, especially Contessina de’ Bardi. For some reason on this show, the romantic drama frustrated me more than it usually does with historical dramas. I’d like to watch season 2 despite being a bit disappointed with it. It saved itself for me about mid-season.
  • Penny Dreadful – This show was so confusing! But in the best way. I was a bit underwhelmed by Dorian Gray’s story, and he was one of the reasons I wanted to watch the show, but other stories made up for it. Loved how they portrayed Dr. Frankenstein and his monster as well as the Dracula storyline. And I’m still not sure how I feel about the finale. It was heartbreaking, but also bittersweet in its own way. Victorian era, classic horror characters, and mystery? Yes, please. I kind of want to rewatch it.
  • Versailles  – Another show that I had high hopes for that weren’t exactly met, but in some ways I liked it more than Medici. There are some characters who I want to see more of, like the Queen Maria Theresa! I mean… she’s the queen. And I wish they had explored some relationships more, like Philippe and Henriette’s history, but I will definitely be watching season 2. Spoiler alert: If you haven’t watched season 1, you may want to know that it ends on a cliffhanger…

Have you been watching any good television shows? Let me know what you’ve watched recently!

One thought on “What I’ve Been Watching #4

Leave a Reply

