Tag: End of the Year Survey (2016)

It’s time for my first post of 2017. Unfortunately I didn’t do a great job on my blog in 2016 and it wasn’t my best year reading wise, but I’m hoping to do a lot better with both in this new year. I’ve joined the Goodreads challenge as I usually do (with 20 books to start) and I’ve already rearranged my two book cases, one for read books and one for unread books. I’m hoping that will keep me on track. And the 2016 End of the Year Survey started by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner seems like the perfect place to start this year’s blog posts.


2016endoftheyearsurvey.jpg

2016readingstats

Number of Books Read: 26. My original Goodreads challenge goal had been 30, and I realized that would be impossible around Christmas. I changed it to 25 when I was on my 26th book. I hated the idea of failing too much to leave it at 30.

Number of Re-Reads: 0. I had planned on a couple of re-reads, but that didn’t happen. It would be pretty cool to listen to some audiobooks of some old faves, though.

Genre You Read The Most From: Looks like there was quite a mix of genres in the books I read. I have some thrillers, historical fiction, non-fiction, and graphic novels.

2016bestinbooks

  1. Best book you read in 2016: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    It had been on my TBR list for years and I’m so glad I finally found a copy and read it. Not the only book I rated 5 stars, but my favorite.
  2. Book you were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t? Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang, and Matthew Wilson
    When I finally found this book, I was beyond excited to get to it and I was unfortunately disappointed in it. That doesn’t mean that I hated the book and I wouldn’t read the next volume, but it’s not at the top of my TBR list. In fact, it’s currently not on it.
  3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read? Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari
    This book made me think about the world around me in regards to romance, as well as my own personal feelings on romantic relationships, and it also made me laugh. A lot. Such an eye opening book in the best way possible.
  1. Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)? 
    I can’t say that there is any book that I read in 2016 that anyone read because of my encouragement. That doesn’t mean I didn’t let someone know everything I was feeling while reading every book, though.
  2. Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016? 
    As much as I tried to stay away from series in 2016, there were still a few that I have been reading over the past couple of years. Lumberjanes, Ms. Marvel, and Jessica Darling’s It List. For me, the best that I started in 2016 is Jessica Darling’s It List by Megan McCafferty. I read the first two books in 2016 and I have the biggest soft spot for this character.
  3. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016? I read a few new to me authors in 2016, but I can’t say that there’s anyone whose work I’m dying to read right this second. But I will be keeping my eye on a few authors.
  4. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    The topic isn’t out of my comfort zone at all, but I don’t often read non-fiction about feminism, at least not out of college. I took a few classes in college where a lot of the reading was about feminism, but I don’t typically read things like this on my own time. I loved it, though. It’s a short read, so I highly recommend it.
  5. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year? The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
    It was a little disconcerting that the main character’s name was Rachel (like mine!), but I did enjoy reading this book and it kept me reading whenever I was able to pick it up.
  1. Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year? Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
    There’s something about this book that made me think I would re-read it this year. It’s a graphic novel, so it would be a quick read most likely, but I gave it 4 stars and I think a re-read could change that to a 5.
  2. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016? Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang, and Matthew Wilson
    Love this cover.
  3. Most memorable character of 2016? Offred from The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    How could I get her or that entire situation out of my head?
  4. Most beautifully written book read in 2016? I Love, I Hate, I Miss My Sister by Amelie Sarn
    This is another book that I didn’t give 5 stars to, in fact I gave it 3, but there were some parts of it that were written most beautifully than anything else I read. When I saw this question, it was the first one to pop into my head.
  5. Most thought-provoking/ life-changing book of 2016? The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    Nothing else could make me think like this one.
  6. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
  7. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2016?
    “No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream.”Shirley Jackson, The Haunting of Hill House
  8. Shortest & longest book you read in 2016?
    We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – 49 pages
    The Vatican Princess by C.W. Gortner – 400 pages
  9. Book that shocked you the most The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
    I can’t say that it was the most thrilling book I’ve ever read, but it still did a good job at keeping me guessing until the very end.
  10. OTP of the year (you will go down with this ship!)
    I have changed so much because I don’t have any huge ships from any of the books I read! No one is more shocked than myself. But I totally get the Bridget and Mr. Darcy love now!
  11. Favorite non-romantic relationship of the year
    The overall friendship of the girls in the Lumberjanes books, even with some romance between a couple of them.
  12. Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
    Believe it or not, this was a 4 star book for me, but I adore Shirley Jackson.
  13. Best book you read in 2016 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure: We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    I saw it on so many book lists.
  14. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?
    Huh, Mr. Darcy is the only one who comes to mind? But to be fair, I did recently watch the movie.
  15. Best 2016 debut you read? The Vatican Princess by C.W. Gortner

  16. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys by Gerard Way, Shaun Simon, and Becky Cloonan
    It is a graphic novel…
  17. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read? Jessica Darling’s It List by Megan McCafferty
    I adore Jessica Darling like no other character and to read her when she was in middle school has been a treat.
  18. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016? The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  19. Hidden Gem Of The Year? Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
    This book was released in 2011, but I had never heard of it until I found it at the library while looking for the Ms. Marvel books. Great surprise find!
  20. Book That Crushed Your Soul? I Love, I Hate, I Miss My Sister by Amelie Sarn
    Heartbreaking book.
  21. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016? Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang, and Matthew Wilson
    It was completely different from what I was expecting!
  22. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)? This is a difficult question to answer, but I would have to say parts of The Vatican Princess by C.W. Gortner and The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory for some of their historical events.

2016blogginglife

  1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016? That’s such a tough question to answer. I think I followed more booktube channels than blogs throughout the year.
  2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016? The Grownup by Gillian Flynn posted almost a year ago. It was one of two reviews that I posted in 2016. Yikes. Great book, though.
  3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog? My Favorite Genres/Gothic Fiction or something in my What I’ve Been Watching posts. I really enjoy doing those posts and I have several shows to talk about soon!
  4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)? Unfortunately I didn’t participate in anything! 
  5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016? Being horrible at blogging and still having people comment on my posts! Thank you!
  6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year? Working full time.
  7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)? Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do, in both comments and views.
  8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love? Any of my What I’ve Been Watching posts even if they’re not entirely bookish.
  9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)? Tons of booktube channels! They keep me in the book community even when I’m not active in blogging.
  10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? As mentioned at the beginning of this post, I kind of… sort of… maybe completely my Goodreads reading challenge.

lookingahead

  1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017? Pretty much anything that has been on my Goodreads to-read list for the past few years, but maybe the latest 2 Shopaholic books.
  2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)? Once and for All by Sarah Dessen! I’m so excited!
  3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating? No idea right now! I need to look into debuts for this year.
  4.  Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017? I haven’t been reading many new series, so I’m unsure of this one as well.
  5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017? My main hope is to review more books this year.
  6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone: Well, I am currently reading My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella right now and I’m loving it, so as of this moment, that’s my first 2017 recommendation.

What a post! That took quite a while, but it encouraged me to read more and do more blogging. So fun. If you have read any of this or if you’ve done this post, please let me know. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

