Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set in the American South

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is books with a certain setting (beach, boarding school, haunted house, etc.). It took me a while to choose a setting, but here we go: Ten Books With an American South setting. I’m from the South, but I didn’t read much set here for quite a long time. But taking a Southern Literature class in college gave me a new appreciation for the literary culture of this region.


The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Absalom, Absalom by William Faulkner
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Coming of Age in Mississippi by Anne Moody

The Color Purple by Alice Walker
Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
Absalom’s Daughters by Suzanne Feldman

Several of these books I read in my Southern Literature class, but a few of them I picked up on my own time. Coming of Age in Mississippi by Anne Moody has stuck with me since I read it in class probably six years ago. And Absalom, Absalom is one of those books that gave me a sense of accomplishment just for finishing it. One day I’d like to read another William Faulkner novel, but I’ll have to do some research first. That being said, I am wanting to go visit his house one day since it’s very close to me. Only three books on this list are ones that I haven’t read, Their Eyes Were Watching GodThe Color Purple, and Absalom’s Daughters. Two of these are extremely well known books set in the American South, but Absalom’s Daughters is a 2016 release that I haven’t heard too much about, but it has a good rating on Goodreads.

Have you read any books set in the American South? I’d love to know if you have any favorites!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set in the American South

Leave a Reply

