Update (2016 Bookish Resolutions)

As we are officially past the first 6 months of the year (2016… I’m still shocked we’re here), now seemed like the perfect time to look at my Bookish Resolutions posted in January and find out how I’ve been doing on them.


Read 30 books in 2016. I’m about halfway there. Even though I’ve been on vacation, I still haven’t read very much. Still, I think I’ll be able to reach the goal I’ve set for myself. I know my limits and anything more would end up seeming like a competition and that wouldn’t be fun.

Take advantage of what I already own and stop buying so much. Out of all of my goals, this is the one I think I’m doing the best on. I can’t even remember the last time I bought a book. At the same time, I can’t say I’ve only been reading what I own, but I’m trying.

Less YA. This year’s reads are about half YA right now. That’s a hard habit to break! 

More graphic novels. 4 so far. If I can read a few more before the end of the year, that would be great.

Re-read. No re-reads so far. If I do re-read anything soon, it may be in audiobook format instead of reading it myself.

Series. Another hard habit to break. My goal was to read series after they’re finished and I haven’t done that. I’m currently reading the Ms. Marvel and Lumberjanes and Jessica Darling’s It List series. Those are all quick reads, though, so it’s not so bad to read one or two of the books and then go to something else. I don’t feel like I’m forgetting anything major when I get back to them. Other than that, I did read Bridget Jones’s Diary and I don’t plan on reading the rest of that series. I went in knowing that and thought the first book could be a standalone book anyway.

Purge. Great job here! I attempted the KonMari method and was able to get rid of a lot of books. It cleared up a lot of space and lessened some anxiety to read books that I honestly had no interest in anymore.

Review. I’ll let you be the judge of that. When I finish a book, I do rate it on Goodreads, but I haven’t been writing any reviews. The last review I wrote and posted was in January.

Schedule. See the above goal. Again, I haven’t done very well at scheduling posts or even making them, but I know that once I’m back at work, reading and this blog can be an outlet and a relaxing venture. I’ll do my best going forward.

Finish my first novel. This was a tough goal to consider completing in a year, so I’m not finished with it. I know it’s going to take a while, but that’s something I’m going to be working on throughout the rest of the year and probably into the next.


So, did you make any bookish (or not bookish) resolutions? How are you doing on them?

3 thoughts on “Update (2016 Bookish Resolutions)

Leave a Reply

