What I’ve Been Watching #2

The last time I posted here about what I’m watching was in October, so I think this is a long overdue post. And I’ve been watching a lot of stuff! Between being sick a few months back (ack, the flu!) and now being on a vacation from work (yay!), I’ve been using my Netflix account a lot. Most of these things were watched in the past two or three months, but a couple of things were watched a little earlier this year. They just left an impression and need to be mentioned.


TV

  • Comedy Bang! Bang! – My favorite podcast turned into a 22-minute show! It’s essentially a mock interview show with appearances by some wonderful actors/actresses and comedians, and also some characters, much like on the podcast. I first jumped around depending on who the episodes’ guests were, but now I’m watching from the beginning.
  • Master of None – I watched this when I was home sick in March and, although it took me a few episodes to really start binge watching, I related to this show more than I first thought. And now I’m reading Aziz Ansari’s book, Modern Romance.
  • Parks and Recreation – Considering I loved The Office (US), I don’t know why it took me so long to finally watch this. It has some great actors and characters and relationships. I’m currently in season 6 and I don’t want it to end.
  • Black Mirror – This was recommended to me, on several occasions, by my sister. It’s similar to The Twilight Zone, but all centered around current and possible future technology. I have one more episode to watch before I’m caught up.
  • Borgia – After watching The Borgias, I was looking forward to watching this and watched about half of the first season before stopping. It was a little slow for me at first, but when I finally went back to it, I found it hard to stop watching it. It’s extremely similar to The Borgias, considering it’s about the same family and history, but  there are a lot of differences in storytelling. In some ways, I prefer one over the other, but I feel like they’re surprisingly too different to really choose which one I like the most.
  • The Killing – This show had me staying up late and waking up a little early before work just to watch even 10 minutes. It helped to the fill the hole that was left when I finished Twin Peaks even though it doesn’t haven’t any supernatural elements. In some ways, that made it even creepier. It’s based on a Danish show called Forbrydelsen that I would love to watch one day.

Movies

  • The Babadook – Does anyone remember when I mentioned wanting to watch this? I finally did it. At first, I was concerned that the movie would be too scary, but there were only a few moments that I found a little difficult to watch. Yes, I had to cover my eyes a couple of times. I love that it was written and directed by a woman and I’d love to see some of her other work when she releases something else.
  • Band of Robbers – I’ll be honest here; the only Mark Twain book I’ve ever read is Pudd’nhead Wilson. I know the overall story of Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer. This is a modern retelling of those stories and characters, and I found it very well done. It’s lacking some things, and I’m sure I’d have a different opinion one way or another if I had read the books, but I enjoyed it. Great cast.
  • Elizabeth – A Tudor queen! Tudor England is one of my favorite time periods for historical fiction. Somehow I had never seen this movie before and I’m glad that it and its sequel (which I must watch soon) are both on Netflix. Considering the awards that it won, I think it’s a must watch for historical fiction fans.
  • Como para agua chocolate/Like Water for Chocolate – This book is currently on my ‘Want to Read’ list on Goodreads, but I decided to do something I don’t do often and watch the movie first. While I wasn’t blown away by the movie, it didn’t turn me off from the book at all. I’m always open for some magical realism, so I liked that part of it a lot.
  • People, Places, Things – This was a last minute decision for me before I pressed play, and it was a nice watch. For me, there was nothing over the top important about it or anything that I personally relate to, but that’s not always a bad thing. I probably wouldn’t have watched it if Jemaine Clement wasn’t the main character, but I liked seeing him in something new.
  • Teen Witch – Other than seeing a clip of “Top That” once, I had no interest in watching this movie. Once I watched it, I realized how wrong I was for never caring about it before. What a masterpiece! I mean that in both a kidding way and a slightly serious way. You know, I may have been a baby when this came out, but I felt a strange sense of nostalgia for a time that I don’t even remember. How Did This Get Made? (another great podcast) has a wonderful episode on this movie which makes it even better.

What have you been watching lately? Any suggestions based on my lists?

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Watching #2

Leave a Reply

