What I Read & Watched in January

The last time I did an actual summary of what I read in a month was, well, months ago. I didn’t read much in January, but I would say that my reading challenge for the year is off to a decent start. My reading was a little slower when it came to novels, but I did read two graphic novels and I finally watched a couple film adaptations of two of my favorite reads.


January 2016

Books
lumberjanesii
 msmarveli
Lumberjanes, Vol. 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson (Lumberjanes #5-8) – ★★★★
Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson (Ms. Marvel #1-5) – ★★★★

At this moment in 2016, my resolution to read more graphic novels is going the best out of any of them. I promised myself I would finish my current read before starting the next Ms. Marvel, but it’s hard to stop when they’re so easy to read! Okay, I did read one issue. 

Movies
gonegirl pridefilm

Finally! I knew before I watched either of these films that I would love them based on general opinion and my enjoyment of the books, but I didn’t expect both of them to be so hard to even pause for one moment.

I actually bought Gone Girl when it was on sale a few months ago and I was so glad to finally sit down and watch it over one weekend. I wish that I could have watched it all in one sitting because Gillian Flynn’s stories suck me in! I was thinking about it all day after I started it despite having read the book less than a year before. Kudos to Gillian Flynn and David Fincher on this one, and the performances were wonderful as well. I loved the comedic elements and the soundtrack was great (Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and David Fincher are a great team).

And since I like to wait years to watch a movie, or so it seems, I’m happy that Netflix added Pride and Prejudice from 2005. If Blockbuster or Hollywood Video still existed, this would have been watched as soon as I finished the book, but unfortunately that is a luxury that I will forever miss. Despite that, this movie was great and it was like falling in love with the book, characters, and Jane Austen herself all over again. There were some differences from the book, some bigger than others and more missed, but overall I think this was a great adaptation and one I would love to see again one day. Maybe I’ll ask my sister if she has seen it.


My posts are still slow due to work. My schedule is pretty nice and affords me a lot of time at home in the evening, but that also means that other things have to be done at night and no longer in the daytime. I may start posting on the weekends sometimes, but I currently don’t have a blog schedule. I’ll be working on one soon and I’ll try to make a couple more posts this week. If you have a blog schedule, it would be great to know how you keep up with it. Any suggestions you may have are extremely welcome.

Now that I’ve posted about what I read and watched in January, and a little bit of a life update, let me know what you read and watched. Here’s to a wonderful February.

2 thoughts on “What I Read & Watched in January

Leave a Reply

