Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Resolutions

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Bookish Resolutions. I constantly have goals in mind, but this year I’ve written them down and I hope it all works out. I’ll be trying my best.


 

Read 30 books in 2016 – My goal in 2014 and 2015 was also 30 books and I succeeded both times. That seems to be the most attainable for me. I’ll be keeping track on Goodreads.

Take advantage of what I already own and stop buying so much. I began a TBR jar late last year and I’ve barely used it. As I’m more of a mood reader, a TBR jar may be difficult to use, but I want to try to use it a time or two.

Less YA. In 2015, I read more adult books than anything else and I’m proud of that. Not that I don’t adore YA. Lately I have felt that some of my YA reads have been a little young for me, so it’s a bit of a natural progression.

More graphic novels. I have a huge appreciation for them after I read some in 2015.

Re-read. I own some of my all-time favorite books, but they’re just on my shelf. Revisiting them is something for me to do this year. The Classics Challenge from Pretty Books may also play a part in this as I have a lot of classics that I haven’t read since school.

Series. Oh, series. If I have a series on my list, I want to try to read all the books after the series is complete.

Purge. As much as I enjoy shopping for books and growing my collection, I have too many books. Something I need to do more is get rid of books that I don’t love and others that I will probably never read.

Review. I want to try to write and post a review for almost every book that I read. My review style is something that I’m still working on, so this will be good for my writing.

Schedule. Planning is one of my favorite things to do. This may sound strange to a lot of people, but I am more productive when I prepare a schedule. A weekly schedule of posts and writing time is something I really want to work on.

Finish my first novel. This one will take a lot of time. Can I do it? I sure hope so! Any pointers?

How did your bookish and non-bookish resolutions work out last year? Or do you prefer to not make them?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Resolutions

  1. It’s always good to clear out your shelves in the beginning of the year :). I should actually do that too! I’m shooting for 75 books and I’m hoping to read more GNs too. If you have any recommendations, please throw them my way! Good luck in your goals and finishing your novel :).

  2. You have wonderful resolutions! I too felt less of the urge to read YA as I grew out of my teens. Purging is something I definitely need to try, I love having a ton of books but some of them I most likely will never pick up again! I think I’m gonna drop mine off in various “Little free Libraries” around my town.

Leave a Reply

