What I Read in 2015

They say the way you spend the last day of the year is how you’ll spend the next year. For me, I spent New Year’s Eve reading and with family. If that’s how I’ll be spending 2016, it sounds pretty good to me.

In honor of 2015, and saying goodbye to the good and the bad of the year, I decided to make a post about what I read in the last year. I’m a huge fan of Goodreads and I have been making a reading goal for myself through them for the past few years. In 2015, I read 30 books. My goal was 30 and, honestly, I was reading until around 6 last night. The important thing is that I finished my goal (for myself) and enjoyed the reading while I did it.

While looking at my Year in Review on Goodreads, I noticed that I had several 5-star ratings. I tend to give 3 and 4 stars, which I still consider to be good ratings, but a 5-star book is a treasure. You’ve seen a few of these on my blog already, but some are books that I’ve read while on my little hiatus from the blog. I love the variety of them.

Favorites (5-star ratings)

Along with these favorites were some books that I abandoned. That’s something I’m working on not feeling bad about, but a couple of the books are ones that I plan on going back to one day.

In 2015, I began reading graphic novels and more short stories. Audiobooks also became a quick favorite and I’m looking forward to listening to more books this year. Something that I want to read more of in 2016 is poetry, both the comedic and the serious kind, and embrace my growing love of graphic novels. I’ve already requested a few from the library and I can’t wait to read them.

How was your reading in 2015? I’d love to know your favorites (and maybe least favorites) and what you plan to read in 2016. Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “What I Read in 2015

Leave a Reply

