My Dream Book Collection (Invaluable.com)

Hello everyone! I was contacted by Ryan from Invaluable.com to take part in a project they’re currently doing with several book bloggers. They simply wanted me to check out their site, where they have auctions on collectibles, and pick a few things that I would personally love to have in my book collection. It was really enjoyable to go to the site and look through their rare books. Used book shopping is one of my favorite hobbies, and I’m always looking for something one-of-a-kind or simply old, so it was exciting to see what people are selling.


My first search was Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. It’s one of my favorite stories of all time and I’d love to have a huge collection of the books, as well as other things related to it. I found a couple of items that I thought would make great additions to the small collection I currently have.

invaluable1 dali
1941 Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland/Through the Looking-Glass
1969 Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland illustrated by Salvador Dalí (and autographed by the artist!)

I like that the first collection is a simple set and comes in a box. There’s nothing like having a little box set. But the second edition is so different and I’m not sure if there’s an artist quite like Dalí to illustrate such a book. The artwork is incredible. These would both be great additions to a collection, from simple and classic to just as bizarre as the story itself.

invaluable3 invaluable4
1894-1895 Fireside Stories edited by Grace Rhys
1832-1834 The Plays and Poems of Shakespeare 

These two were accidental finds for me, but two that would be a great part of any classics collection. The first is a series of 12 books, including CinderellaThe Sleeping BeautyAesop’s Fables, and more.  Again, there’s a box, and it’s so cute. I’ve never seen anything quite like this. The second collection is a 15 volume set of Shakespeare’s plays and poems. This would be great to fill up an entire shelf in a bookcase. It would be the perfect focal point and great to pull out and read from every once in a while. Why shouldn’t you have a huge Shakespeare collection?


Something I like about Invaluable.com is that they have so much stuff that can be collected. I loved seeing all of the non-book Alice in Wonderland things that they have. I’ll be checking it out every once in a while. Thanks again to Ryan for asking me to be part of this project. The site is great for people who are looking to grow their antique book collection, as well as other collections. If you look at the site and see something you like, I’d love to know what you find.

(All pictures are from Invalubale.com; the only thing I did was crop them and collage the Dali illustrations.)

Leave a Reply

