Top Ten Tuesday: Movie Adaptations I Still Need to Watch

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is about book to movie adaptations. People have extremely strong opinions on books even being adapted into movies, and a lot of times, you’ll hear someone express their disbelief that someone would dare watch a movie without reading a book. Personally, I’m very guilty of watching movies before or without reading a book, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. And if I read a book, loved it, and it’s made into a movie, I’m usually pretty excited about that. I’m a huge fan of having a little more to enjoy. Hopefully the book to movie adaptations on this list are good ones. If you’ve seen any of them, please let me know your thoughts!


thebookthieffilm
The Book Thief (2013) – I loved this book and I already own a copy of this movie, but I just haven’t read it yet. If it’s anything like the book, I know it will be a very emotional movie. The book itself is a 5-star book from me and one of my favorites.
gonegirl
Gone Girl (2014) – Believe it or not, I still haven’t seen Gone Girl, and I’ve also managed to not be spoiled about any differences in the movie. I’m really looking forward to watching this. David Fincher is a wonderful director.
thegreatgatsby1974 thegreatgatsby2013
The Great Gatsby (1974, 2013) – Seeing as it’s a novella, The Great Gatsby has been adapted several times. And I haven’t seen a single one! These two seem to be the most well known and popular versions.
thehaunting
The Haunting (1963) – I actually haven’t read The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson yet, but I’m excited to because I love Shirley Jackson and I think a film version of any of her stories or books would be fantastic. The reviews of this one seem to be favorable.
janeeyrefilm2 janeeyrefilm
Jane Eyre (1996, 2011) – There are understandably a lot of film versions of this book, from the silent era to just a few years ago. I have no idea which one to start with, but I do need to read the book first. I do know a lot of the plot, but I want to read the book first.
persepolisfilm
Persepolis (2007) – I just recently finished the second volume of this graphic novel and I thought they were great. I had been wanting to see the movie for years, but I’m very glad that I read the novels first. Now I must find a copy of the film!
doriangrayfilm
The Picture of Dorian Gray (1945) – This is one of my favorite books and stories of all time and I have yet to see any adaptations of it. I feel like watching a couple of films would give me a little more love for the overall story and the images in the story, but I don’t know where to start! Much like with Jane Eyre, there are so many adaptations to choose from.
pridefilm2 pridefilm
Pride and Prejudice (1995, 2005) – What a wonderful book! I’m so excited to watch a couple of adaptations of this and I know that the 1995 BBC miniseries, despite not being an actual movie, is probably the most popular. Then there’s the 2005 version that I know a lot of people like. My aunt let me borrow her BBC collection from the 1980s adaptations, so I may start there.

I have a lot of viewing to do! And a little more reading before I can get to some of these, but that’s exciting. If you’ve seen any of these adaptations or have any suggestions of some to check out, let me know! I’d love to know what other people have seen.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Movie Adaptations I Still Need to Watch

  1. Oh I hope you see Gone Girl!! I didn’t like it as much as the book, but still thought it was well done. There are definitely some difference… and a full-frontal shower scene from Ben Affleck (not that I noticed or anything). Thanks for stopping by my list 🙂

  2. Great choices 😀 You have some fantastic movies to look forward to; The Book Thief in particular is absolutely incredible! You also reminded me that I still need to watch the most recent adaptation of Jane Eyre.

  3. I haven’t seen the newest Great Gatsby yet, but I’d like to. I have seen the one with Robert Redford which I’ve never really cared for. I have seen a made for tv movie from around 2000-1 that was actually pretty decent though. 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

Leave a Reply

