Top Ten Tuesday: Horror/Thriller Books and Film to Read and Watch

Happy Almost Halloween! This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie of sorts, any Halloween theme! I’ve decided to go with Ten Horror Books and Movies/TV Shows that I have on my TBR and TBW (To Be Watched) lists. Some of these may be more thriller than horror, but I’m going to include them because they both have elements of fear and it’s all about interpretation. Enjoy!

Books

  • The Grownup by Gillian Flynn – I heard about this short story a couple of weeks ago and I can’t wait to finally get to read it. I’ve read Gillian Flynn’s other books, Sharp Objects being my favorite, and I have been impatiently waiting for more books from her.
  • The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – I read We Have Always Lived in the Castle in August and I loved it. I now consider it to be one of my favorite books of all time and it has been a little difficult for other works to live up to it since, but I finally got this one at the library and I’m dying to read it this week. Hopefully I can pick it up in a couple of days.
  • The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman – This is one of my favorite TV shows and one of the best that I’ve seen as far as storytelling goes, and all that suspense, and I’m interested in checking out the original work. I know that there are a lot of differences between the graphic novels and the TV series, but I’m sure I’ll like it as well. I also haven’t read a horror graphic novel before, so I think that will be an adventure in itself.
  • Night Film by Marisha Pessl – I’ve mentioned this book here before, and I still haven’t read it. But every time I think of a thriller that I want to read, this one comes to mind first.
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker – I’ve read Dracula before for class, but like with most things I’ve read for class, I didn’t get to enjoy it as much as I would have liked. This is a book that has been on my re-read radar for the past few years. I have an audiobook version of it as well as a print version, so I may listen to it and see how that works for me.

Movies/TV Shows

  • The Babadook – I’ve heard nothing but good things about this movie. In all honesty, I don’t know exactly what it’s about, but that makes it even more frightening.
  • Hemlock Grove – This show has been in my queue since the first season, but I was trying to hold out until it was over or there were more seasons. Now there are three seasons on Netflix and it may be a good time to get into it. My sister told me she thinks I may like it, so we’ll see what I think. Also haven’t read the book.
  • The Omen – This is a classic. I’ve been hearing about The Omen since I was a kid and I guess I just never got around to watching it. Even when I was watching horror movies all the time, this one never made it in my video store rentals (I miss video stores). Evil kids in horror movies is one of the things I try to stay away from, but I feel like I should watch this one since I recently watched a couple of other horror classics.
  • Scream – Let me just say that I have seen Scream many times. This was one of my favorite movies when I was younger and I’ve been wanting to re-watch it for a long time. I still have flashbacks to it when I’m in a public restroom or turn on the patio light. I watched the first 10-12 minutes of it last night and the opening scene still stands as one of my favorites.
  • Sleepy Hollow – A historical horror film based on a classic short story? Sign me up. I’ve read that it doesn’t stick very close to the story, but I’m still interested in seeing it.

Do you plan on reading or watching any specific for Halloween? I’m thinking that I’ll probably read The Haunting of Hill House and watch Scream and start Hemlock Grove.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Horror/Thriller Books and Film to Read and Watch

    • Ooh, I’m excited that someone likes it. I don’t know much about its reception. I’ll have to check out the show one day. I’ve seen a lot of people talk about it over the last couple of years and I just haven’t checked it out.

      Thank you!

    • Thank you! Other than Scream, I can’t personally recommend any of these TV shows or movies, but I do highly suggest watching a few episodes of Supernatural season one. They’re great if you don’t feel like watching an entire movie.

  1. I can rember the first time I saw Scream. The opening scene with Drew Barrymore was terrifying. Great list, Rachel. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

  2. OOHH I have read the first The Walking Dead comic. It was awesome! You definitely need to read that 🙂 The Babadook IMHO was just okay, but I think most people enjoyed it. I prefer horror like Scream (WHICH WAS AWESOME!). i really want to watch Hemlock Grove, too!

    • Ooh, thank you! I’m glad to hear you liked it. Yeah, I have heard a lot of good things about The Babadook, but I still haven’t made it through the first few minutes. Maybe I will this weekend. Although I don’t know much about Hemlock Grove, I plan on that being the next show that I watch.

Leave a Reply

