Review: The Homemade Kitchen by Alana Chernila

thehomemadekitchenPublisher: Clarkson Potter
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Pages: 320 pages
Genre: Cookbook
Rating: ★★★★

I’m not much of a cook. I can read a recipe pretty easily and everything that I’ve cooked from one has come out pretty well, but I’m no chef in the making. But I would love to learn how to cook a little better and learn how to make some more things, so I thought that this cookbook seemed like the perfect place to start. The Homemade Kitchen is about natural, whole foods, and that was perfect for me. My main interest in cooking is learning how to make meals that consist of mostly vegetables and non-processed foods, but this book offers so much more. 

The first thing I noticed about the book is that it has a lot of beautiful pictures, and I love pictures of food, but the most impressive thing to me was that it begins with several pages on how to cook eggs a few different ways, how to steam and roast many different vegetables, and how to cook grains. Other than learning how to boil water, which is the first step for any cook, this is the perfect second place for a beginner to start. I learned so much from the book within the first couple of pages, so that’s a huge plus. There are also sections about things that you can grow in your own garden and making salads, which scraps you can save and how to use them (a definite must if you don’t want to be wasteful), and a chapter on picnics that was surprisingly inspirational. I never want to have a basic sandwich in the park ever again.

A few of my favorite recipes from the book are Spicy Pumpkin Hot Chocolate, One-Dish Chocolate Cake, and I would love to replicate the Turkish Breakfast that she featured. The Kimchi Breakfast Tata may be the most unique dish I’ve ever heard of, and I think I may need to try it right away. A lot of the recipes are simple and quick and easy to follow, so that’s once again great for a beginner. There are a lot of recipes that don’t personally appeal to me as I don’t eat meat or drink milk, but I can make easy fixes to those myself, and the base recipes are very helpful for beginning to learn how to make some more things.

Overall, this is a great book for a beginner, but it’s much more than just recipes. If you’re looking for a book about food that includes recipes as well as thoughts and advice, this is a great choice. It’s inspiring to know how cooking and food help Alana Chernila live her life. I’ve been perusing it constantly since I received it and I feel like I’ve learned a lot about the beginning stages of healthy eating.

Alana Chernila is also the author of The Homemade Pantry. For more information on this one, check out Goodreads.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

