The Friday 56: Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. The rules are simple: Turn to page 56 or 56% on your e-reader and post a line (or two)! Just be sure to not spoil the book. Right now I’m reading Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood (Persepolis, #1-2) by Marjane Satrapi.


persepolisiTitle: Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood (Persepolis, #1-2)
Author: Marjane Satrapi
Status: 26/160 pages
Genre: Autobiography, History (Graphic Novel)

I was nearly dead when I arrived.

As soon as I picked this book up from the library, I opened it up and began to read it. I’m not very far into it yet, but I’m already hooked to it. I love how much history Satrapi has included so far, and it’s amazing to me that this is an autobiography. This is actually the first graphic novel that I’ve ever read for pleasure (I did read a couple of adaptations in a Victorian Literature class and I used to read comics from time to time when I was a kid), and I think I made a great choice for my first read. The graphics fit the story perfectly. I love that the graphics are in black and white while the cover is a bright contrast to the story within. I don’t know much about Iran’s history or the Islamic Revolution, so I’m looking forward to learning more about that country from someone who lived there during the time.

The above excerpt is from a page that I haven’t read yet, so I am extremely interested in finding out what exactly is going on there.

Have you ever read Persepolis?

2 thoughts on “The Friday 56: Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood

Leave a Reply

