Top Ten Tuesday: Author Duos I’d Love to Read

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Author Duos You’d LOVE To See Write A Book Together. I can’t tell you how exciting this idea is because there are so many authors who I love and I feel like they would work well with others. It’s even better knowing that some of them are friends because that means it’s possible. Right? Well, hopefully. This was so fun to put together. I only have seven here, but I could have easily come up with twenty or more.


YA

sarahdessen meganmccafferty
Sarah Dessen and Megan McCafferty

There’s no other way to start this list than with my two favorite authors. If they were to ever write a book together, I would be over the moon! Genre wise, I think the only way to go is YA Contemporary. I will read anything that they write anyway, but if they were to ever write something together, I already know it would be my favorite thing ever. 

megcabot sophiekinsella
Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella

Something I’ve always loved about Meg Cabot is that she writes great YA and adult fiction, and Sophie Kinsella recently released her YA debut which I loved. I feel like their writing styles for adult are pretty similar, with a lot of wit and characters that are understandable while still being a little over the top at times. I’d love a YA from them, but an adult book would probably be even better. Imagine characters written together by the women who brought us Princess Mia Thermopolis and Becky Bloomwood!

huntleyfitzpatrick sarahdessen
Huntley Fitzpatrick and Sarah Dessen

Another YA Contemporary duo that I think would be wonderful. I’ve only read one book by Huntley Fitzpatrick, My Life Next Door, but it reminded me so much of Sarah Dessen’s books. It would be interesting to read them bringing their worlds together.

katekaryusquinn kimberlyderting
Kate Karyus Quinn and Kimberly Derting

At the time, I’ve only read one of Kate Karyus Quinn’s books, Another Little Piece, and two from Kimberly Derting’s The Body Finder series. I knew that I wanted to include them in this post because both of their books are so haunting! I read Another Little Piece in one day because I couldn’t put it down and I would love to see them work together. I have no idea if they even know each other, but I could see them writing a great YA Paranormal/Mystery together. It would be very cool.

amytintera katzhang
Amy Tintera and Kat Zhang

There’s something about their books that make me feel like they would create a great, science fiction and dystopian world together. Other than the YA Contemporary duos in this post, these were two that popped into my head almost immediately.

Adult

gillianflynn rosamundlupton
Gillian Flynn and Rosamund Lupton

This is a choice that didn’t come to me as easily as the others. Then I came across their names on my Goodreads read shelf and it clicked. Sister reminded me a lot of Sharp Objects and I’d love to read a mystery by these two ladies together.

lisasee michellemoran
Lisa See and Michelle Moran

Two of my more recently read historical fiction books have been by these women. I have only read one book from both of them (and I haven’t finished the one by Lisa See yet), but I love that they both write historical fiction based in Asia (China and India in the books that I’ve read). I’m hoping to read more from both of them and if they were to write together, that would be great.

Would you read any of these duos? I feel like I could have made another list of unexpected duos, but I went with what I would read if they were released today.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Author Duos I’d Love to Read

Leave a Reply

