What I’ve Been Watching #1

A couple of weeks ago I posted a season wrap-up post about television, movies, music, and books that I had enjoyed during the summer. I loved putting it together, so I decided to make a post occasionally about the television and movies that I’m currently watching (and probably obsessed with). Since I love film almost as much as literature, I thought it would be really fun to talk about what I’m liking and sometimes disliking.

Here’s what I’ve been watching the past couple of weeks.


TV

  • Empire – Season one ended with a huge moment and I’m so glad that season two hasn’t slowed down on the drama. The actors are all amazingly talented and I have so many feelings for this family. They also create original music for each episode. That’s so impressive by itself. I haven’t been buying the music, but some of the songs do get stuck in my head.
  • Heroes: Reborn – As this is a reboot of a show, I’m having some trouble each week without some of my favorites being there (I’m looking at you, Peter Petrelli!), but I am enjoying this series. There are a few characters who I don’t really care about at the moment, but the abilities are really interesting and I can’t wait for more familiar faces. My love for the original series was rekindled a couple of weeks ago when I finished up the fourth season and I’ve been reblogging a lot of posts on Tumblr from Heroes. I’m hoping that this gets a couple of seasons because I’m sure they have some big plans that will work best after they set up a bit more.
  • How to Get Away with Murder – Much like with Empire, I feel like everyone on this show is so talented and there’s so much non-stop drama that I can’t not enjoy it. The second season has just started, so it’s off to a big start, and there are surprises everywhere. I can’t wait to see what’s going on! (If you watch it, you know why I was freaking out last night.)

Movies

  • Blue Velvet – Twin Peaks is probably in my top 3 television shows of all time. I watched it earlier this year or late last year, and David Lynch is just an amazing filmmaker. I wanted to check out some of his other works and Blue Velvet was on Netflix (but it’s not anymore) and there’s something about his work that blows me away. This film is not for everyone and it’s a bit more graphic than I expected it to be, but there’s a surrealist meets film noir feel to this that I’m not sure I’ve ever seen done so well. It makes me want to watch Twin Peaks all over again, but I think I’ll wait for the 2016/2017 series.
  • Heavenly Creatures – I found it surprisingly difficult to watch this movie. I think it’s because it’s based on a true story and the girls were so young, but I’ve had a few days to think about it and I do think it’s really well done. At first I found some of the fantasy elements to be odd and out of place, but it makes sense to me now. That’s childhood and these girls were young. It’s also set in the early 1950s when girls were treated almost like adults with a lot of independence and I can definitely see how childhood and adulthood overlaps a lot in it. Also, Peter Jackson directed it and I can see some hints of The Lord of the Rings movies in it. One of the women is now an author, so there’s a little connection to literature.
  • Rosemary’s Baby – I have never read this novel, but I wanted to check out some horror films since it’s nearing Halloween. I haven’t watched a horror movie in quite a while, though it’s one of my favorite genres to study and create. Go figure. First off, this movie isn’t scary. Secondly, I don’t support Roman Polanski. Since it was on Netflix, I decided to watch it and I found it to be more thought provoking than frightening. There are a lot of frightening elements in it, of course, but it gives you a lot to think about. It has been over a week and I’m still not sure what my final thoughts are on it.

So that’s what I’ve been watching lately. I’ve watched a couple more things that I may discuss a little closer to Halloween, but I’d love to know what you’ve been enjoying and if you have any recommendations based on these or just anything you like. I’d really love to watch more female directed movies and shows soon. I’ll be pulling out my feminism in film books soon and doing some research to help me with that.

One thought on “What I’ve Been Watching #1

Leave a Reply

