Banned Books Week

Banned Books Week is here! I don’t usually take part in anything relating to the week other than reading a banned/challenged book or two, but I decided that this year I would type up a blog post about a few books that I’ve read or would like to read. The fact that any book can be banned is baffling to me and, even more than that, some of the titles are shocking. While I was looking at lists, I was most surprised to see so many children’s books on the lists. I didn’t include any for children here, but a couple are considered YA and are read in schools. I can understand why some books are challenged, especially if they include racist language or extremely graphic scenes, but literature is oftentimes a representation of someone’s life or the lives of those around them. To censor that, to me, seems counterproductive.

READ

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
The Awakening by Kate Chopin
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Other than The Catcher in the Rye and The Book Thief, I read all of these books in school and I’m glad that they were able to be part of the curriculum. I feel that I learned something from all of them.

TO READ

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
Persepolis by Marijane Satrapi

You can learn more about Banned Books Week here.

Are you planning to read any banned/challenged books this week? I likely won’t be able to fit on in this week, but I will try to read something banned/challenged soon.

Leave a Reply

