Throwback Thursday: Roswell High by Melinda Metz (& the TV series!)

I haven’t done a Throwback Thursday post since I posted about the Jessica Darling series over a year ago, so it’s definitely time to do another one. The Top Ten Tuesday post that I did last week about books I read in high school was very fun to put together, but I realized that I didn’t include this series! It’s possible that I’ve mentioned it before, so I wanted to dedicate a post to it since I loved it so much.


roswellhighThe Roswell High series by Melinda Metz is about a group of teenage aliens who are trying to survive on Earth. They naturally have a couple of obstacles, humans and evil aliens. Throw in teenage hormones and you’ve got yourselves a fun book series.

This book series and the television show that it inspired were probably the start of my fandom life. That’s one reason I consider it one of my favorite book series of all time. Michael and Maria are possibly my favorite relationship of all time and my first official OTP. I loved them in the books, but the show gave me so much more.

The first book was originally released in 1998 and the show ran from 1999-2002, but I didn’t read or watch until 2003 or 2004. How the books and the show escaped my knowledge for so long is a mystery to me. To be honest, I don’t know what about these books caught my attention because I’m not really a fan of aliens in fiction. I do remember alien things being popular in the late 90s/early 2000s, though. And I ended up devouring this series. Each book is pretty short (book one is 170 pages), so it didn’t take me too long to finish them all thanks to the library, and they’re so exciting. It has been over 10 years since I’ve read them, but they’re the kind of books that I think I could still enjoy now. I may not find the writing and the plot as exciting as I did back then, but nostalgia helps.

And the show… Oh, it’s one of my all-time favorite TV shows and I have my favorite episodes that I rewatch every once in a while. (The Christmas episodes are especially nice during the holiday season.) When I finished the book series, the first season of the show was either out on DVD already or it was released soon after, and I remember my mom getting it for me. That’s when I became a TV marathoner. The exact details on season two and three are fuzzy, but I know that SCI FI/SyFy reran an episode or two of the show every day around the time I got home from school. Yeah, I rushed home to watch that. I now have all three seasons on DVD and I have no plans to ever get rid of them. I also read one of the spin-off series (to the show) when I finished season three and discovered that those existed.

As with most adaptations, there are a lot of differences between the two series. Book characters are missing, original characters are created, and there are some plots that are never on the show, but the show was able to expand on some of the mythology and I think it stands well on its own. If you’ve read the books and didn’t like them, I still recommend checking out the show.

You can find out more about the books on Goodreads.

Have you ever read/watched Roswell? Or are you a fan of alien fiction?

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Roswell High by Melinda Metz (& the TV series!)

  1. I loveeeeeeee Roswell, it was such a great show! I discovered it on Netflix a couple years ago, and thought I wouldn’t like it because I’m not really into sci-fi but it mixed teen drama and aliens perfectly! It definitely needed more seasons. Michael and Maria were the best! I really want to read the book series now 🙂

    • I wish it was still on Netflix (at least I don’t think it’s on the US one anymore) so more people could discover it! I’m always glad to hear that people like it. The show is a huge surprise because, yeah, it seems like they wouldn’t be able to do much with the alien and teen drama genres, but it’s great. Definitely check out the books! And there are a few that are supposed to be a follow-up to the show. 🙂 Michael and Maria forever… Sigh.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

