Musing Mondays #1

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm that asks you to choose from a few questions and make a post answering it. It also includes a random question. This is my first time doing it and I like that it feels a bit like a journal entry. It’s going to be long then because I like to ramble.

The questions/prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week I decided to stop buying books because my reading has slowed down and I don’t want my TBR books to pile up, but before I realized that I was buying too many, I did make a few purchases. I’m a huge used book fan because the hunt is part of the excitement, but I find that I buy books that I’m not sure I would otherwise ever pick up if I had to pay full price. Like the Penguin 60s books that I found recently. I found 1 of these about a month ago, but then I found 5 more for .12 cents each. There’s no way I can pass up on that sort of deal. I didn’t know about these before I found them, but they’re from Penguin’s 60th anniversary back in 1995, and they’re little mini-books! Come on… The 5 that I just bought are James Joyce’s The Dead, Herman Melville’s Bartleby (actually a favorite short story that I read years ago in college), Thomas Paine’s The Crisis, Robertson Davies’ The Gathering of Ghost Stories, and Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Young Goodman Brown. While I don’t think I would have originally bought these if they weren’t so cheap, they’re all so short that I think I will try to read them eventually. I’m looking forward to rereading Bartleby and checking out A Gathering of Ghost Stories. I also looked up more info on them and there were over 100 released and I’d love to find some of the others.

Another find was a copy of Dante’s The Divine Comedy for .99 cents. It’s in great condition even though it’s from 1955 and, truthfully, I don’t know a lot about it other than the general things: poem, Italy, extremely old. This will probably be something that I choose to listen to while reading along and I’ll probably take it one book at a time.

I also found a book that was on my TBR for a very long time, Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. Other than the short stories, this one has the best chance at being read somewhat soon. It’s no longer on my TBR list, but I still find the idea to be interesting and I’d love to read it. It was also .99 cents.

As of now, I’m on my first official “book ban” and I’m going to do my best to not buy anything until after Christmas or (a little exception is okay, right?) it’s something I’ve been hoping to find for a long time. My main goal is to read things that I already own and lessen the stress that I find myself under sometimes because I own more than I will ever read. If I can make a dent in what I own (and possibly donate as I go), I’ll be much happier and the books I find will be more exciting.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Is a rainy day likely to inspire you to read?

Yes. I love when it rains for several reasons and one of them is that it’s a nice reading environment. I also love to watch movies or work on marathoning a TV show, but if it’s a cold and rainy day, I’m all about curling up with a blanket and reading a book. That sounds so nice right now.

Told you this would be long! Verbose should be my middle name.


Opinions on book bans? Do you ever go on them and, if so, do they work? And do you like reading while it rains?

Leave a Reply

