The Friday 56: Pride and Prejudice

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. The rules are simple: Turn to page 56 or 56% on your e-reader and post a line (or two)! Just be sure to not spoil the book. I’m currently reading (mostly listening to) Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.


prideandprejudiceiiiTitle: Pride and Prejudice
Author: Jane Austen
Status: 83/345
Genre: Romance, Classic (Adult)

‘In point of composition,’ said Mary, ‘his letter does not seem defective. The idea of the olive branch perhaps is not wholly new, yet I think it is well expressed.’

I’ve been going through a reading slump, but I remembered that audiobooks exist! This is one of those books that I’ve attempted to read multiple times already, so I can only hope that I keep up with it since I am enjoying listening to it and reading along from time to time. Listening to it has helped out a lot.

Like I mentioned, I’ve tried this book out a few times before (not including in high school because I pretty much forgot what happened), but I’ve thankfully been pulled into it and I’m loving it! How have Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy captured my attention so perfectly and so quickly? And I’ve been loving the conversations between the characters. I always figured I would like the story, but I was still surprised by how entertaining it has been, and the wit! I think everyone knows how praised the book is for its romance, and one thing I’ve loved discovering about it is that it’s so much more than that. I adore talk of society from that time and there have been a few moments that have made me laugh out loud. Always a good thing. It’s hard to talk about a book that’s so loved, but I now completely feel that love for it.

What are you reading today?

13 thoughts on “The Friday 56: Pride and Prejudice

  1. Glad you’re enjoying Pride and Prejudice! I’ve read lots of adaptations but can’t seem to get into the classic for some reason… I’m still reading Emmy and Oliver (very slowly, I might add). Really good so far!

    • It’s a great story. I wish it wasn’t taking me so long to listen/read, but I am loving it. 🙂 I’m sure I’ve inadvertently read some adaptations of it, but I’ve been putting off the films and other books until I’ve finally read the original. Emmy and Oliver sounds so great. Anything that’s compared to Sarah Dessen is something I should probably read. I have a feeling I’ll be adding that to my TBR soon…

Leave a Reply

