Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read in High School

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a freebie! I don’t know if the topic I chose has been done before, but I thought it would be nice to talk about a few books I remember reading in high school (although a couple could be from middle school). I read a lot of books in high school, so I can’t remember everything, but these stood out to me for one reason or another. Behind the cut you will find teen horror, teen contemporary, fictional diaries, and a few classics. I managed to not include the Jessica Darling series or a single Sarah Dessen novel! That’s not an easy feat. 

  fearstreet lockedintime themothdiaries

Fear Street by R.L. Stine – It was hard to choose a single Fear Street book because there are so many and I couldn’t figure out which ones I’ve read and which ones I haven’t read. I’m not sure I could ever remember if I tried. These didn’t exactly keep me up at night, but I loved the suspense and the wild situations. Next time I come across one at a used book store, I’m going to buy it and read it. I see them constantly and smile to myself before moving on, but I should take the opportunity to have a few again.

Locked in Time by Lois Duncan – I loved Lois Duncan when I was younger! This was probably my favorite of her books and I really wish I had an entire collection. I know there are a few of her books that I never read, but she’s one of my favorite authors from when I was younger. I’d probably reread some of them, especially this one.

The Moth Diaries by Rachel Klein – While I remember reading this, I don’t think I liked it much. I watched the movie a few years back and liked it a bit more than the book, but there was something about both of them that fell flat to me. I liked the different look at vampires, though.

theblackbook hownottospendyoursenioryear svhsenioryear californiadiaries

The Black Book series by Jonah Black – I remember reading these and not enjoying them very much, but I still finished the series! One thing I remember was not liking the romantic aspect of it.

How Not to Spend Your Senior Year by Cameron Dokey – This is another book that I remember reading, though I couldn’t tell you all of the details. All I know is that my high school had reading time designated once a week where everyone had to read for about 20-30 minutes and this was one I read during that time.

Sweet Valley High Senior Year series by Francine Pascal – Yes, I read every single one of these books and devoured them. Elizabeth and Connor brought the romantic drama I craved! There were almost 50 books in this series and I remember reading them during my senior year. (I think went on to read some of the college books, but I didn’t make it very far.)

California Diaries series by Ann M. Martin – This is a series by Ann M. Martin about teenagers living in different difficult situations, like eating disorders, abuse, and sickness. There are 15 books total and each character has 2 or 3 of their own “diaries”, which was one of my favorite formats at the time. These really stick out in my mind. I’m not sure what I would think about them now, but I remember them being hard to put down. I think I would check out 3 at a time. This cover is from one of Dawn’s books. She was a character from The Baby-Sitter’s Club. I had completely forgotten that these were a spin-off of that series! 

goaskalice thecatcherintherye thebelljar

Go Ask Alice by Beatrice Sparks/Anonymous – I’ve read this book twice, once in middle school and once in high school. I know that it’s believed to have been fiction the entire time, but I don’t think I had any clue that it could have been fake. Did it help me stay away from the bad stuff? Not sure, but I did read it twice, so it left some sort of impression.

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – A lot of differing opinions on this one. This is probably my most read book. We didn’t have to read this in school, so I picked it up on my own and I consider it one of my all-time favorites. I’m hoping to reread it one day soon and see if I still feel the same way.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – This is another book that I didn’t have to read for school and picked up on my own. I remember reading a lot of books about mental health while I was in high school, perhaps because I was curious or to better understand my own emotions and anxieties, and this one has stuck with me for years. I’d love to reread it. And I would love to read more of Plath’s works.

What are some books you remember reading in middle school or high school? And, if you are in high school now, do you like reading for class or do you prefer to discover books on your own?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read in High School

Leave a Reply

