Review: Q&A a Day for Creatives

q&aforcreativesPublisher: Potter Style
Release Date: August 11, 2015
Pages: 368 pages
Genre: Diary/Journal, Art
Rating: ★★★★

I’ve been eyeing 4-year (and 5-year) journals for the past couple of years, but there are so many available now that it’s a little overwhelming to decide which one to get. I also wasn’t sure if I would like the randomness of the questions. What if I didn’t have an answer for that day? But when I saw this one and saw that it was art-centered, I had to check it out. Over the last few months I’ve been trying my hand at more artsy things like painting, so I decided that this one would be a good one to try out. I love the idea of a little artistic practice each day. I also like that my drawing may get better each year because of the practice and I’ll be able to see the progress on one page. I am still getting used to remembering to do this every day, but I’m getting better at that and it’s definitely not because of the journal itself. 

The first thing I did when I received this was flip through the prompts because I was too curious to just go into every day without knowing what I would be doing. There is a wide variety of prompts in the book and one of the things I’ve noticed is that, if you’re like me and you don’t know too many art techniques, there’s an opportunity to learn a bit about art as you create. There have already been a couple of times that I’ve had to quickly research before I could do my prompt, but I really enjoyed that. One of my favorite prompts that I’ve done so far was drawing what’s outside your window in a pointillism fashion.

There are a couple of things that I don’t like. One reason I chose to try out this particular journal was that it says that you can use watercolors in it. Unfortunately, that’s not the case. The paper is much too thin for watercolors. So far I’ve been able to use pens and colored pencils without any problem, though, and that has worked out for me. If you’re at all into art, or you’re interested in practicing your drawing, I highly recommend this.

According to Goodreads, a couple similar journals are Q&A A Day: 5-Year Journal and Jane-A-Day: 5 Year Journal: 365 Witticisms by Jane Austen. For more information on this one, check out Goodreads.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

