Discussion: New Genre Experimentation #2

Last week I posted the first of a new discussion “series” that I’m calling New Genre Experimentation. It’s exactly how it sounds. I’ll post about a genre that’s new to me or one that I am interested in reading and hopefully recommend some books and get some recommendations. Last week I discussed steampunk. This week, I’m going with Magical Realism.


Unlike steampunk, which has several different definitions, magical realism is a little more straightforward. It’s realistic fiction with one small twist: magic. That magic isn’t exactly of the fantasy variety. It’s simply part of the everyday world and doesn’t necessarily need an explanation to the characters or the reader. I like that. I’m not a huge fan of fantasy novels, especially high fantasy, so magical realism is perfect for me. There’s not much to understand about the magic; it’s just there.

gardenspells thegirlwhochasedthemoon thesugarqueen

I’ve mentioned before that one of my new favorite authors is Sarah Addison Allen. I’ve read three of her books (Garden SpellsFirst Frost, and The Girl Who Chased the Moon) in the past few months, and absolutely loved them. Because of that, I’ve been dying to read even more from her and the genre itself. Sarah Addison Allen has several more books that I’ve yet to read, including one that I already own (The Sugar Queen), so I know I can count on her books to get more of my fill of the genre. Other than that, I think the only other book I’ve read in this genre is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It’s a definite favorite.

Since I’ve really enjoyed this genre and I’d love to read more of it, I’ve gone a bit of a Goodreads quest to find more.

theaccidentseason thedovekeepers thesnowchild

I know very little about these books, though I have seen Alice Hoffman’s name around a lot and The Snow Child was already on my TBR. Since I haven’t read these, I’m not completely sure if they’re all actually magical realism, but I’m going to trust Goodreads on this and include them. If you’ve read them, let me know what you thought. And definitely let me know if you have any other recommendations for books or genres!

Have you ever read magical realism?

Leave a Reply

