Discussion: Short Stories

I have the hardest time reading short stories.

Don’t get me wrong, if I love an author, I’m going to check out their short stories and I’ve written several myself, but I usually find them difficult to fully enjoy. A full length novel can take a few chapters to grab my attention, and some short stories are only a few pages, so it’s not because a story may not be interesting. It usually just takes a while for me to become engrossed in something. I studied more than I can even attempt to remember and I admire the ability to write a story in so few words and pages, so in an effort to broaden what I read on my own, I currently have two short story collections in my TBR and I’m reading one of them right now.

letmetellyou thelottery

As I’ve read and loved two of Shirley Jackson’s works (one short story, “The Lottery”, and one book, We Have Always Lived in the Castle), I thought she was the best place to start. It also seemed like it would be a great way to read more than one thing at a time since I can read short stories and a novel without feeling like I’m reading a ton of stuff at once. So far, I’ve only read one short story from The Lottery and Other Stories, but I have to say it didn’t do much for me. On the plus side, I’m very excited to read more of her stories because I do enjoy her writing style and there’s so much from her to read.

A few other authors whose short stories I’ve enjoyed and plan to read more from are Elizabeth Gaskell, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Zora Neale Hurston, and I’d like to reread J.D. Salinger’s short stories that I already own. I don’t know where to start with more recent authors.

I’d love to know what you think about short stories and if you have any favorite collections (any genre) or authors.

2 thoughts on “Discussion: Short Stories

  1. I’m not a huge fan of the short story either. Granted, I haven’t read very many, so maybe I should just read a few more to see if my opinion changes?

    • Good idea! That’s what I’m planning to do. Maybe I just haven’t found the right author or genre of short stories. I read so many in school, so I may need to venture out of the classic territory and find something new, though all of the authors that I mentioned in this post are classic authors. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

