Discussion: New Genre Experimentation #1

Yesterday while I was looking at the genres I’ve listed as my favorites on Goodreads, I realized that there are others that I’ve heard so much about that I have just never read, so I decided to post something here to discuss that and possibly get some suggestions. Before I start, I want to note that it’s always possible that I’ve read this genre without realizing it.


My first genre is steampunk. There is broad definition of the genre, but it being a sub genre of science fiction set in Victorian times seems to be the place it typically begins. I’m intrigued by the idea of steampunk, and I’ve even contemplated a steampunk Halloween costume before, so I’ve read quite a bit about the genre. There are a several websites dedicated to it which leads to a lot of information to sort through. But I have no idea where to start with books! It seems like a genre that I could possibly like because I love to read about the Victorian era and I enjoy science fiction and fantasy from time to time. I think the closest I’ve ever gotten to anything steampunk is the Dracula TV series, though, and I’m not completely sure just how steampunk that show would be considered. Some people say yes, some people say no.

cinder rebelmechanics

While thinking about this, I noticed that I did mention last year that I wanted to read Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I honestly had no idea that it was considered part of the steampunk genre. Another book I’ve been seeing a lot lately is Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson, and it sounds like it would be a wonderful read. Of course, these are just two books and there are so many more to check out, YA and Adult.

Even though these are a couple of books I’d like to read one day, I’d prefer to read a couple standalone novels to get an idea of the genre before I jump into any series, but almost everything I’ve seen has been part of one. That’s where I hope you can help me out. Are you a steampunk fan? Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Discussion: New Genre Experimentation #1

  1. While I do like the subgenre itself, I actually haven’t read too many books featuring it! Westerfeld is an author I’ve been recently introduced to and I’m tempted to give Leviathan a go! Alternatively, I did instabuy Andrew Smith’s Marbury Lens as the premise sounded pretty neat–buuuut they’re both series haha. Cornwell’s Mechanica comes out next week I believe so you might be interested in that standalone!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I’ve seen Westerfeld’s name around a lot, so I think I need to finally look into his works. Thanks for the recommendations! I wish there weren’t so many series, especially in something new to me, but maybe I’ll read a first book or two and see what I think. I’ll definitely look into Mechanica first.

Leave a Reply

