Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-buy Authors

This week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday is Auto-buy Authors. For me, these are the authors that I will buy and read absolutely anything that they write regardless of the genre or the age group they’re intended, and I’m sure most of my choices aren’t a surprise. That doesn’t mean I’ve read everything that is currently out, though, because some of them have a lot of books or I’ve just recently began to read their work. I thought for a long time about this and I couldn’t come up with ten authors, so here are eight who I will buy and read without a thought. Cue my rambling.

Sarah Dessen – First on this list has to be Sarah Dessen. I’ve been reading her books since I was about 13 and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. As long as she’s writing, I’ll be reading. At the moment, I only have What Happened to Forever left before I’ve read everything she currently has published. I’m not sure how I feel about catching up! There’s something nice about knowing that there’s a new (for me) book of hers that I can pick up at any time.

Megan McCafferty – If you’ve read a few posts around here, chances are you’ve seen me rave about the Jessica Darling series. There has never been another book series that I’ve related to so much and it holds a very special place in my heart. I haven’t read Thumped or the IT List series yet, but I own Bumped and Thumped and do plan on reading the IT List books eventually. I don’t read middle grade very often, so I think it would be a nice change. Jessica is one of my favorite book characters, so I would love to read about her middle school days. I’m always excited for Megan’s releases even if I don’t get to read them right away.

Meg Cabot – I have read so many of her books! She has such a wide array of genres and for so many ages, and I love that. There’s nothing better than an author who you can turn to for any of your reading moods. I own several that I still need to read and I’ve had a lot of them for years. It’s probably time to put a couple on my TBR list. Still, I jumped so fast at reading Royal Wedding even though I hadn’t read a Princess Diaries book in years. That’s why I’m including her on my auto-buy list. If she wrote it, I want it.

Sophie Kinsella – Again, an author I’ve been reading for years and who I’ve read so many times. I own a lot of her books (as Sophie Kinsella and Madeline Wickham) and I’m always looking for more to add to my growing collection. After reading Finding Audrey, I’d love if she wrote more YA, but I’d read anything.

I feel like these authors were a little predictable for me, but here are a few new ones that I haven’t talked about too much yet.

Gillian Flynn – True, she only has three books out and everyone has talked about Gone Girl for the past couple of years, but I read all of them within a few months and I’m a huge fan of her style. I’m looking forward to anything else she releases. I would definitely pre-order one of her books without even reading a summary. That could actually make for an even more intriguing mystery.

Sarah Addison Allen – Another author I’ve only read three books from, but I’ve loved the books I’ve read by her so far, so she’s a new addition to my favorite authors group. Her books are wonderful if you’re looking for something that will lift your mood without being too fluffy, so I would gladly auto-read from her.

Erin Morgenstern The Night Circus is one of my favorite books and one of the best fantasy novels that I’ve ever read. I can’t wait until she releases another book! I’ll put it on my TBR list as soon as there is information.

Amy Tintera – I loved the Reboot duology and I am patiently waiting for Tintera’s next book, Ruined. There’s a short summary of it up on Goodreads and it sounds fantastic. High fantasy is a little different for me when it comes to books, but I don’t care because I think Amy Tintera is a great author.

Tell me what you think about my choices. Who are your auto-buy authors?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-buy Authors

Leave a Reply

