What I’ve Read in 2015

First of all, I’d like to say hello! I took a bit of an unscheduled break from my blog for almost a year, but I’m finally back! When I started this blog, I always intended to be active because I love to read and I wanted a place to share all of my thoughts with others who love books as much as I do, so I knew I needed to start this blog up again. It was especially obvious when I was participating in Camp NaNoWriMo last month and feeling so creative and in love with words. I’ve also been posting #bookstagram posts on Instagram (bookishrachel), so feel free to follow me there.

Secondly, I would usually post a ‘What I Read in _____’ post around this time of the month, but I didn’t read too much in July sadly, so I will just be sharing some of my favorites that I’ve read so far in 2015.

royalwedding saintanything findingaudrey
Royal Wedding (The Princess Diaries, #11) by Meg Cabot
Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Three of my favorite all-time writers released books this year! Meg Cabot, Sarah Dessen, and Sophie Kinsella all at the same time? Book heaven for me. I don’t know if I’ve ever been more excited by a year’s book releases. Not to mention, Meg Cabot’s book was the latest Princess Diaries novel.

I can’t remember which Princess Diaries book was the last one I read, either #6.5 or #7, but when I found out that the new novel was about an adult Mia, I knew I had to read it for old time’s sake. I read it when I was on vacation in Florida and that paired with the nostalgia of reading one of my favorite characters in middle school and high school made this a huge win. This book is about so much more than the title suggests, and it was such a good time revisiting Mia. 

Almost everyone I know understands that I have a deep love for Sarah Dessen. There’s only one of her books that I still haven’t read, but I have it and it is currently being saved for a time when nothing else will do. Saint Anything is definitely one of my favorites of hers and I would recommend it to anyone who has only read one of her books and doesn’t know what to read next or someone who has never read her and doesn’t know what to read first. 

I’m glad the new Sophie Kinsella novel was a YA and not a Shopaholic novel. I still haven’t read Shopaholic to the Stars, but Finding Audrey was a great read. Honestly, I was a little apprehensive when I found out that it’s about a girl who suffers from social anxiety and panic attacks. Those can be extremely difficult to write and read about, but I felt that Sophie Kinsella did a great job with this book while still bringing in some humor as she always does. And it was never about the disorders. 

thethousanddollartanlinemrkissandtell
The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham
Mr. Kiss and Tell
by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham

I’ve mentioned before that Veronica Mars is one my favorite shows and these books make me feel like I’m watching a new season. They have the same characters and setting, of course, and they’re full of the snark and plot twists that made me love the show. They’re the perfect follow-up to the film and I hope that there are many more to come because I devoured these. If it was at all possible – and I know that it isn’t – I wouldn’t complain if there was a new one every month… I guess that’s why we have fan fiction.

gardenspells thegirlwhochasedthemoon
Garden Spells (Waverly Family, #1) by Sarah Addison Allen
The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen

My favorite new (to me) author that I’ve read this year is Sarah Addison Allen. I’ve seen her books around for several years, and I had Garden Spells on my TBR list for probably a year before I read it. After reading it and First Frost, I knew I wanted to read more of her books, but then I read The Girl Who Chased the Moon and I fell in love. Although I’ve never lived in a small town, I am from the south, and the fact that her books are set in the south has made me so happy and I’ve felt connected to a lot of the characters because of that.  Next up on my list of her books is The Sugar Queen since I already have it. Magical Realism is also my new favorite genre thanks to her.

Those are a few books I’ve read this year that I’ve loved. What have you been reading?

Leave a Reply

