The Friday 56: I Am the Messenger

The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. The rules are simple: Turn to page 56 or 56% on your e-reader and post a line! My last Friday 56 post was about The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, and this week’s is about I Am the Messenger by the same author.

iamthemessengerTitle: The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Status: 56%
Genre: Mystery, Realistic Fiction (YA)

It’s a long night, where I’m trapped inside a dreamworld and can’t decipher whether I’m awake or asleep.

The Book Thief is one of the best books I’ve ever read, so I immediately found out if Zusak had any other published books and added this one to my TBR list. I Am the Messenger is different from it, not only because of the change of setting, but also the writing style. So far, I’m really liking the book because it’s simply written but powerful in its own way. It gets you thinking about your own life. I’m not sure if I’ll like it as much as I did The Book Thief, but I’m not finished yet. I wish I was able to read this one a little faster as it has taken me a few days to read half of it.

8 thoughts on “The Friday 56: I Am the Messenger

    • For some reason, I thought that The Book Thief was a debut novel, but he actually has a series called Wolfe Brothers. I haven’t read those, but I recommend I Am the Messenger if you liked The Book Thief.

Leave a Reply

