What I Read in September

It took me a few months, but I think I’ve finally had a successful month of reading! I read 5 books this month, gave 2 of them a 5-star rating, and completed my Goodreads 2014 challenge.

September 2014

mylifenextdoor bravenewworld pushingthelimits

My Life Next Door (My Life Next Door, #1) by Huntley Fitzpatrick (4 stars)
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley (3.5 stars)
Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits) by Katie McGarry (3.5 stars)

amonstercalls thebookthief
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (5 stars)
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (5 stars)

My Life Next Door and Pushing the Limits are two books that I won and received in May, and I’m so so so glad that I finally read them. Pushing the Limits has been mentioned a couple of times on the blog as I’ve had the e-book for months and I read a novella by Katie McGarry that month. Pushing the Limits is also on my Fall TBR list, so I’m glad I already finished one of those books. Fingers crossed I read a few more of those books this season. As far as the other books in the Pushing the Limits series, I’m not sure just yet when and if I will get to them. I rated it 3.5 stars, and I did enjoy it, but I don’t typically love YA Contemporary that includes a lot of drama. That being said, I think a lot of people have and will love this book. Echo and Noah are both really great characters and I was dying to know what happened in both of their lives. My Life Next Door was a little more my style when it came to YA Contemporary as it had a bit more comedy in it and less drama (but there is some drama, so beware!). It reminded me a lot of Sarah Dessen’s books and she is one my all time favorite authors. The second book in that series is on my TBR list now.

I read Brave New World in high school, in either 11th grade English or AP English, and I couldn’t remember a thing about it. All I knew was that we discussed if it was a utopia or a dystopian world. As someone who has enjoyed several dystopian series in the past few years, I knew I needed to read one of the classics that began that literary theme. If there’s one thing that I can say about this book, it would be that it makes you think a lot about what would happen if our world was like this, but it’s bordering on insane in some ways. Perhaps it’s because of the time it was written and the fact that we are not living in a world like this now. It’s still a great book to read if you are into: a) dystopian literature, b) classic literature, c) satire.

My favorite reads this month were, by far, A Monster Calls and The Book Thief. These are two more books that have been on my TBR list for months and they were both 5 star books for me. I haven’t read anything middle grade in a really long time, though I’m aware that A Monster Calls is also classified as Young Adult, but it made me want to read more. I read it in about a day and I was so impressed with Ness’s writing and the illustrations. I think this one was recommended to me on Goodreads after I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children last year. Great recommendation on Goodreads’ part. I’m not sure what to say about The Book Thief, though. I can’t recall ever reading anything set during WWII or Germany during that time, and I was a little apprehensive about the subject matter, but I trusted reviews I’ve read about it and the ratings I’ve seen. It’s a beautiful book and it made it onto my favorites list before I even finished it. The ratings are definitely well deserved and, even if you don’t think you can handle the situations, give it a shot. It’s hard to put down.

As I mentioned above, I completed my Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge in September! My goal for the year was 30 since I didn’t read too much last year and I thought that would be easy to achieve and I’m very glad that I was right. It may not be many to a lot of people, but I think it’s a pretty nice number of books, and it feels great to have completed it with a few months left of the year. We’ll see how many more books I can read before the new year.

What was your favorite book in September?

Leave a Reply

